Posted by: bree1972 | November 18, 2009

BeeBe’s Recipe Book 11/19/09

To our grandchildren, Jordan and Matthew, I’m BeeBe, and over the years, daughter Julie and son-in-law Matt have started calling me that also.  When  Jason and Blair were home this weekend, I noticed that Blair had also changed over to calling me by my “grandmother” name.  My two sons haven’t converted yet – to them, I’m still “mom”, and probably always will be.

When I retired, one of my projects was to create a cookbook of special recipes that one day might get passed down to the children (or grandchildren).  You know what I mean – those dishes that the kids always ask for when they come home – the ones they grew up eating.  I can’t tell you how many times I have paused in the kitchen and thought, “How did my mom make that roast that my two sons thought was the best in the world?”  Or, “What was her recipe for potato souffle?”  I remember asking her over and over again to write down how to make all those treasured dishes that only she could make, and she always said, “But I don’t have a recipe – I just put a little of this and a little of that – until it looks right.”  I smile now when I think of that, because no matter how hard I try, my roast sure doesn’t “look” like hers did.

When Jason and Blair gave me a cookbook stand for Christmas last year, I began my project in earnest.  Blair also gave me a cookbook like one I had seen and admired in her kitchen.  It is propped up on the stand on my counter right now, and it looks beautiful there because the photographs of the food all look mouth-watering.

“BeeBe’s Recipe Book” is a plain old blue spiral notebook.  I got some clear plastic sleeves to put recipes in and some cute divider sheets – all from Wal-Mart.  I’ve filled it with recipes of my own, and new ones that I’ve tried out on Ted, and that he has liked.  If he says, “Let’s have this again!”, it goes in the book.  Julie and Blair have passed along recipes that their families love, and many are from Lana Stuart, who has her own cooking blog, http://www.lanascooking.com, and is one of my best friends. 

BeeBe's Recipe Book

Divider page - this one labels "Breads"

Some recipes are written on lined notebook paper.

Recipe cards from friends and family are taped or glued onto pages and placed inside a plastic sleeve. This one for "Mexican Casserole" is from Julie.

Recipes from favorite magazines like Southern Living and Taste of Home are tested on Ted, then added if he gives them a "thumbs up".

Recipes from favorite magazines "Southern Living" and "Taste of Home" are tested and added to the book, if Ted gives them a "thumbs up".

 

Recipes from Lana Stuarts's cooking blog are printed and inserted into a sleeve.

It’s not a pretty book.  But each page was created with love, and each recipe that is included has been taste-tested by someone in the family and declared “a keeper”.  Here is one that everyone loves.  Enjoy!

Kahlua Cake

I can’t remember if this cake recipe was in Taste of Home or Southern Living, but it was contributed to one of those magazines by Margaret Allen.  When I made it the first time and took it  to a party here at the lake, it got rave reviews.  I usually just make it for special occasions because Kahlua is not something I just keep around the house.  It is delicious – moist and tasty and different!

  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 (18.25-ounce) German chocolate cake mix
  •  1 (3.9-ounce) box chocolate flavored instant pudding mix
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup Kahlua (coffee-flavored liqueur)
  • 4 large eggs
  • Kahlua Topping (recipe follows)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 10-cup Bundt pan.  Sprinkle chopped pecans evenly over bottom of pan; set aside. In a large bowl, combine cake mix and pudding mix.  Add water, oil, liqueur, and eggs.  Beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth.  Pour into prepared pan, and bake for 45 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Carefully pour hot Kahlua Topping over cake.  Let stand, in pan, for 4 hours.  Invert cake onto wire rack.

Kahlua Topping (makes about 1 cup)

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup Kahlua (coffee-flavored liqueur)
  • 1/4 cup water

In a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients.  Bring to a boil over medium heat; boil for 2 minutes; stirring often.

This would make a great Thanksgiving dinner dessert!

Responses

  1. I’ll bring over a bottle of Kahlua & we can have coffee & cake!

    • Sounds like a plan to me. I ALWAYS have coffee. I’ll have to make one of these cakes next summer.

  2. That sounds delicious Brenda..I’m gonna have to save that and try it sometime. Loved Kahlua and cream when I was younger 😉
    It doesn’t matter what your book looks like. It’s filled with love.

  3. Thanks for mentioning my blog, Brenda! Love your recipe book – I have a recipe “box” with clippings and print outs all stuffed inside. Also have a recipe for homemade kahlua if you want.

  4. I am slooo impressed! That’s a beatiful book!

    A long time ago I copied recipes for our Plaetzchen (German Christmas cookies) onto large index cards with green and red decorations but that’s about as far as I’ve gotten for a recipe book. It always amazes me when my girls say they remember my cooking!

    Hmmm. Retirement projects. . . . Organize all the cards and scraps nf paper Sounds like a plan!

  5. Wish I had seen this cake receipe yesterday before I made my carrot cake. I made the layers yesterday and put them in the freezer to frost next Wed. if I don`t get busy and forgit about it. I could test the kaloua while I was making the cake.

  6. The kaloua cake sounds good. Like Hilde I was a kaloua and cream drink in my younger days. I to use to ask my mom how she made things but they were never written down. One thing I really miss and wish she had written down for me is how to make potato pancakes. I know us grate potatos, add water or milk but that’s about it. If I go into a restrurant and they have potato pancakes I always order them to see if they taste like mom’s. Most don’t. I haven’t put my recipes in a notebook but I do have them on the computer.

    • Maybe Lana will read this and send you a recipe for potato pancakes. If anyone has a good one stashed away somewhere, she does!

  7. Love the recipe book Brenda! I have recipes from my mom that I need to put into some kind of book..most of them need to be retyped as mom’s writing in the last few years was not the easiest to read..and some of my own are pretty “messy”…thanks for getting me thinking about doing that!! And I am so glad to have found Lana’s blog..l went to it after finding it on one of your blogs last April and have made several of the recipes!!

    Again..thanks for sharing!! 🙂

  8. Will look forward to that published cookbook someday. I wrote one when I was in my 20’s and…it still sits on the shelf, to this day. I suspect yours will do better!

    • No cookbook plans AT ALL!

  9. Hi Bree— I thought you had been in MY kitchen here in MN!! I have a blue 3 ring binder JUST EXACTLY like yours, also filled with recipes- some tried & true, others waiting to be tried out when I have time (if that ever happens!).

    Have followed you from Mac. to GA, and am sooo enjoying learning things about your life on the “riv-ah”!! Love the pics.

    Pls. settle an on-going debate, since you are in the heart of pecan growing country…is the proper pronounciation “pee-can” or “pee-kahn”?? Smiles! Us midwesterners certainly want to be correct in our speaking..ya sure- you ‘betcha!!

    Smiles,
    Jane


Leave a Reply

Categories

