Posted by: bree1972 | November 20, 2009

A Simple Thing 11/21/09

Confucius once said, “Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.”  How true.

Jane, one of my loyal readers who followed me to Georgia from Mackinac Island, got a big kick out of my blog yesterday.  She rightfully reminded me that only a few days ago I had gone on and on about how much more patient I am now that I am older and retired.  I needed to hear that, especially after spending another six hours this morning trying to get my old laptop up and running – in addition to the five hours spent the night before.

Ted had given up on listening to me and escaped to go check out a truck he was thinking of buying.  I couldn’t blame him.  I had pretty much ruined our evening the night before, ranting and raving about what was essentially a black box with some cords attached.  Was I going to starve to death without that box?  Die of thirst? Suffocate from lack of oxygen?  No to all of those questions.  But after hours and hours of frustration, you would have thought being able to turn on that computer and have it work was going to be like finding gold at the end of the rainbow.

Sometime toward the end of the morning, just as I was about to walk out the door and head for the lake – carrying that old laptop to its final resting place – I noticed that the time stamp in the bottom right-hand corner of the desktop was about two hours off.  When I clicked there, the date popped up as February, 2003.  Hmmmm . . . .  I opened the control panel and clicked on date and time.  I changed everything to its correct setting, shut down, then rebooted.  And guess what.  I had my old, perfectly good computer back, with everything working as it should.

So simple – we had been trying all the complicated “fixes”, and all the computer needed to know was what time and what day it was.  My eyes are still gleefully adjusting back to reading off the big laptop screen rather than the tinny, tiny notebook one. Wow, what a difference!

I will catch you up on my session with the therapy dogs on Monday, and let you in on all the weekend happenings – good Lord willing.  For now, I’m heading outside to enjoy the rest of the afternoon in the beautiful outdoors, where it is a sunny 75 degrees.  I’ve got weeds to pull, two dogs to take for walks, and a swing that needs someone to sit in it.  Simple things.  God bless.

Responses

  1. Ain’t life wonderful? Saw you tonight and we avoided talking about the blog, but sooo glad you corrected the laptop problem. Now……..the big question……why didn’t those geeks suggest this to start with? Oh well, guess it just takes some South Georgia Ingenuity!

  2. You deserve a weekend outside, relaxing & playing with the dogs (& Ted)!

  3. Isn’t that always the case…we don’t look for the simply things in life but worry about what the big problem might be. I’m glad it was so easy to fix after all Brenda, now go enjoy your day. 🙂

    • Thanks, Hilde. And thanks for being such a loyal reader. God bless.

  4. While I understand that a quirky computer is not of the same magnitude as the national debt or the war in Afghanistan, it is the same thing as taking your car to be repaired four times and finding it still won’t work. The computer is a tool that you use to communicate and stay connected. You get a pass on getting aggravated when your car won’t start–give yourself some slack on being upset with your computer.

    It would be nice to just live being joyful in the simple things–if you ever find someone like that please let me know. There is an old e-mail about how you can tell a lot about a person by how they handle three things; a rainy day, lost luggage and tangled Christmas tree lights. Maybe we should add a fourth item to that list. The first three don’t phase me but the computer has the ability to RING MY CHIMES!

    Glad you are enjoying all those beautiful camellias and great weather. xxoo

  5. Brenda, I’m using your blog site for another purpose. And I know you will forgive me, but I want to reach out to as many folks as I can. My friend Susan needs many, many prayers. She had hip replacement surgery Wednesday that was supposed to enhance her future in that it would enable her to enjoy everything she loves….. her family (especially her granddaughter and another one on the way), her quilting, the beach, just life in general…but she suffered a stroke following the surgery and is not doing well. She has been following the Mackinac blog (even though you’ve not seen any comments) because she loves life. Please pray for her recovery. Thank you all, and especially you Brenda, because you have provided a vessel to reach many, many people.

    • Samille, I’m so sorry to hear about your friend Susan. My prayers are going out to Susan and her family for a speedy and full recovery. God Bless.

    • Samille,
      This is a wonderful idea, and I’m so glad you thought of it. If you want to provide an address where readers could send Susan a card or other well-wishes, please send to me at my email address, and I will provide it to anyone who asks (I’ll put a note about that in Monday’s post). Susan remains in our prayers, and we pray for her full recovery. Love you. Brenda

  6. I would fail the Christmas tree light test!! I can string them but when it comes to unstringing them I end up with the sissors!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL What does that say about me?

    PLEASE note my new e-mail everyone
    Thanks

  7. Great blog again! Thanks for letting us into your life and for sharing your family happenings with us! Good luck to you and bear with the therepy training. It will go great, I;m sure. Glad your having nice weather, we are in Michigan also. About 45* and sunny today, it felt nice. I live in whats called the Thumb of Michigan. Michigan is shaped like a “mitten” and I live in the Thumb of the mitten. It cool because to explain where you live you just point on your hand! (Didn;t know if you knew that or not , but thats what about everyone does in MI)

    Michelle

    • I have heard that expression before, Michelle – first from my doublenester buddy Chris Ann, who lives in Mackinac City part of the year and in Florida for the winters. And you’re right – it is a very neat way to explain where in the state you are!


Leave a Reply

Categories

