Posted by: bree1972 | November 20, 2009

That Dang Computer 11/20/09

Dear Lake Blackshear and Mackinac Island Blog friends. Here’s the deal.  It’s almost midnight.  I have been in Albany all day – doctor’s appointment, bank, Office Depot, drugstore (twice – don’t even ask), the printer’s, Kohl’s (trying to find some jeans that will fit and not sit so far down my hips that they fall off), two assisted living facilities to watch therapy dogs work, and last (but certainly not least) the computer store.  Oh yes, they called to say my computer was “fixed” – again.  And I could pick it up.  So I did.

It’s too late to go into detail, but suffice it to say that IT IS NOT FIXED.  Ted and I have spent the last five hours trying to GET IT TO WORK.  I can’t access any of my stuff – no email, no facebook, no blog (I am writing this on my little notebook we bought in Michigan).  I am mad, frustrated, upset, and basically ticked off. And now that we have finally convinced ourselves that it’s not going to work tonight, I haven’t even begun a post to this blog (well, actually I HAVE begun one, because you are reading it).  I know you will understand when I tell you I do not feel inspired to write anything worth reading tonight.  So – I’m going to just close this little notebook, go jump in the bed with a book (because I am so wired there is no way I could fall asleep right now), and pray that in the morning my guru in Atlanta (who is also my friend with the cooking blog-Lana) can give me some words on wisdom to kick start that dang computer into working again.  If she can’t, there is a very good chance it’s going to be at the bottom of the ri’vah by 10 o’clock Friday morning!

I will try my best to post something later in the day on Friday.  I do want to tell you about the visits with the therapy dogs – totally cool.  Sorry you had to listen to me vent – just think what a fun night Ted has had!

By the way, the header is from my trip into Albany this morning.  We call that stretch of road “deer alley” because so many vehicles have hit so many deer there.

Responses

  1. Aww Brenda, don’t worry about us. Maybe it’s just time to get a new computer? Laptops only seem to work for about 4 years and then they become useless. At least it seems that way for me. I do have a great mental picture of you throwing it in the ri’vah tho. 🙂 Had to laugh out loud when I read that.

    • You may very well be right, Hilde! I’m a sucker for my “old stuff” though. That computer has had two new mother boards put in this summer – one at my expense, one for free. It just seems like there is something we’re not doing to get it all working, and I think it is with our wireless provider. Will probably be on the phone with them all day. Cross your fingers!

  2. I wish I lived closer I would send my husband over to fix your darn laptop. I sure hope for your sake it will magically start working and if not, you should throw it into the ri’vah! Have a good day Bree!

  3. Brenda…I knew you had a full day of things to do…but, what a night with the computer! Wish we ALL could have helped…good luck…
    Now you got us all “wired” to start the day!

    • I didn’t hit the bed until 1 a.m. Then the dogs got me up at 6:30. Ugh!

  4. To the laptop…………………Rollin’, rollin’, rollin’ IN the ri’vah. If we can make plants grow by talking to them, why not sing to our computers? xxoo

  5. When it rains, it pours! At least you didn’t hit a deer on “deer alley”

  6. Bree, Bree, Bree! You just have to chill about that darn computer!! Remember your words from Nov. 4th post: “If there is one thing I am learning as I grow older, it is patience…. I have learned that calmer is better”.

    Mmmmm hmmmmm, good advice isn’t it??! smiles. Relax, your readers are always gonna be here cuz we think your posts are always inspired no matter what the content!

    Maybe Hilde is right, you have soooo much loaded & stored on that computer, maybe it just can’t handle it & it’s time for a newer model.

    Hope today goes better for you!!

    Jane

    • Thanks, Jane. I needed that reminder. I had already told Ted this morning that I refused to let that computer ruin one more hour of my day and certainly not my weekend. Frustrating – yes. End of the world – certainly NOT! My little notebook and I will just keep on keeping on. That laptop can just sit there and gather dust until I get good and ready to tackle it again. Actually, it might make a good trivet for the kitchen!

  7. Jill from the Bookstore,

    I was following @islandbookstore on Twitter and I don’t know if it was a Twitter virus or what, but suddenly I wasn’t following the bookstore anymore and I was (and still am) blocked. I’ve emailed the bookstore to get unblocked, but I haven’t gotten a reply. I’m not a spammer (I live in the UP), so could you try to get @heyjude10969 unblocked from the bookstore’s Twitter account? This is starting to give me a complex. ;o)

    Bree, thanks for the Mackinac Island updates. I especially enjoyed the report on the paranormal activity at the Island House Hotel.

    • Hi Judith! Sorry you having that problem on Twitter with The Island Bookstore. I have forwarded your request to Jill, who has forwarded it to the appropriate person to take care of the problem. Hope you are unblocked today! Let me know if you are still having problems after the weekend. Glad you like the blog, and thanks for following me. Brenda (Bree)

      • Wow…thanks for your help! I’m still blocked, but I’ll keep checking. Have a blessed Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Categories

