Posted by: bree1972 | January 2, 2010

Goodbye Arkansas – maybe. 1/03/2010

I simply can’t believe we will be packing our bags tonight, preparing to leave at 8 a.m. Sunday morning.  It seems we just drove into Julie and Matt’s driveway.  We have had such a good time  – playing Wii with the grandchildren (something I am terrible at), reading, playing outside with the dogs (something Bear has enjoyed more than Maddie), and just visiting with Julie and Matt. They are wonderful hosts.   

Julie is a fantastic cook, and we have both probably gained another five lbs. since arriving.  But there’s no need to even THINK about that right now.  We have another stop to make before we will be home and ready to start eating sensibly and exercising again.  By Sunday evening, we will be in New Orleans at Cathie and Charlie’s.  I’ve never been to their home, and I can’t wait to see them!   

New Year’s Eve was very peaceful here.  Julie and Matt went out to a party after we ate dinner.  They didn’t leave until almost 10 p.m., and Jordan and Matthew were in bed asleep shortly after they left.  New Year’s day was full of football and traditional Southern food – ham, greens, potato salad, and black-eyed peas.  Those foods are supposed to bring us nothing but good luck and success for 2010.  Prayers will help also. 

I cannot BELIEVE how many football games the networks can cram into a 4-day period.  I mean SERIOUSLY!  I can remember my Daddy saying (many years ago), “Pretty soon, they will have a GRAVY bowl!”  Not yet Daddy, but it wouldn’t surprise me if they added that one next year! 

I forgot to tell you the funny thing that happened the first night we were here.  I had gone upstairs to get my nightly medicine.  I put all of them in one hand, and I put Bear’s one thyroid pill in the other hand.  When I came to the kitchen, I started talking to the kids and not paying attention to what I was doing.  When I took my meds, I took Bear’s pill as well.  Well, Ted ’bout had a FIT!  He made me call the 24-hour hotline nurse associated with our insurance company.  After she stopped laughing, she said Bear’s med wouldn’t come up on her computer (because it was a DOG PILL).  She suggested I call Poison Control – which I did.  After HE quit laughing, and looked up the med, he told me there was no problem.  Since I take thyroid medicine also, what I had basically done was take a double dose of the same medicine (I guess VET thyroid meds and HUMAN thyroid meds are not that different).  Geez, how embarrassing!

With all the eating we’ve been doing and all the football we’ve been watching, Julie decided we all needed a little exercise this morning.  Remember – Julie and Matt are the ones who ran the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington. D.C. this year.  They LOVE to exercise!  There is a walking/running/biking trail in Bentonville Julie wanted us to try out.  While I was having my second cup of coffee, everyone else in the house was pulling on layer after layer of clothing.  “I’m not going!” I said merrily.  “It’s 18 degrees outside!”  Oh, man, was THAT the wrong thing to say! 

“You are planning to go to Mackinac Island in February (where the wind chill was minus 15 this morning), and you can’t go for a walk in 18 degrees?” Ted asked, with a look of total incredibility.  So, because I didn’t want to hear THAT all day, I finished my coffee, put on long johns, my new ski pants (I bought those on sale at Eddie Bauer a couple of days ago, and they are lined with fleece), three layers of sweaters, Julie’s ski coat, Julie’s wool cap, wool socks, and gloves.  I looked like a combination of an Eskimo woman and the Pillsbury Dough Boy. 

 But, I went, and I actually was quite warm! 

Even Maddie insisted on a sweater!

Bear couldn't have cared less about the low temperatures. He was just excited to be loose on wooded trails again.

Matthew, proving he can walk on water - if it's FROZEN!

Jordan, trying some ice walking.

Somewhere under all that clothing are the Hewitt and Horton families!

  

About 30 minutes ago, a winter weather advisory was issued for Bentonville, so now our leaving tomorrow morning is somewhat in question.  Snow is forecast to begin falling around 2 a.m. and continue until 5 p.m. on Sunday.  With the ground already frozen, ice on the roads may be a problem, and Ted is NOT a person who likes to drive in snow and ice.  But if we don’t get out of here early Sunday morning, I’m sure we will be leaving sometime on Sunday.   Please keep us in your prayers as we travel to New Orleans.  Next stop – Louisiana!

Responses

  1. I have to admit, I did “chuckle” quite a bit when I got to the part about the meds…………….better be careful…
    I hope y’all have a safe trip to New Orleans, have a good time, and get back to GA without incident. It’s cold here at the Lake too, supposed to get down to 24. Bundle up!

  2. It’s cold here, too. No snow but brrrrrrrrrrrr. The Grillades and Grits will be ready when you get here.

    I’ve told my dogs their cousins are coming and they have lots to tell Bear and Maddie. Please drive carefully and tell the Hewitts that they have to share you no matter how much they’d like to keep you for themselves. We’ll take good care of you.

    See you soon.

  3. Have a safe trip to New Orleans. Here in Northern IN we’ve been under a Lake Effect Snow Advisory since 11:00 am Friday and it’s in effect until 7:00 this evening. It’s been snowing off and on but we did see a bit of sun yesterday afternoon. A good weekend to stay inside.

  4. My mom once had a dachshund who was on thyroid medication. At that time (30 years ago) his medication was exactly the same thing she took! Every morning she would get both of their doses ready out of the same bottle, a whole pill for her and half a pill for him (or whatever it was). Vet and doc gave their permission to do this – she filled just one prescription every month, not two. The only difference was that she took hers with juice, and his was wrapped in cheese!

  5. Looks like we are all having the same “freezing” weather! Hubby hasn’t wanted to go out to do anything, I’m getting a little cabin fever myself. He doesn’t realize he will be going back to work tomorrow and I will still be in the house. SIGH. Have a safe trip to New Orleans Horton family and Bear..mommy promises not to take YOUR meds any more. LOL

  6. Aahhhhh! You and Ted were only 3 hours away from us!
    We should have asked you to make a 2-hour detour west to Tulsa and 45 minutes north to Bartlesville! We would love to see you!!! Maybe next time. What’s this about going back to Mackinac in February? Couldn’t stay away, huh?

  7. Cold weather is not fun, even though we had sun, it was a cold Sunday, be safe traveling and what a chuckle, you taking Bear’s meds.


Leave a Reply

Categories

