Posted by: bree1972 | January 14, 2010

Let’s Eat! 1/15/2010

Hello Friends – hope you’re hungry today!

I’ve been trying to think of a way to share some of my favorite southern recipes with you on a regular basis.  Friday seems like a good day to designate for recipes – it’s the beginning of the weekend, you might be going to a party and need a “treat” to take along, you might be having company for dinner, or you might just want something a little different from the standard meat and potatoes (we eat a LOT of meat and potatoes in the Horton house).  So, until further notice, let’s consider Friday Bree’s Recipe Day. 

Then I started thinking about how my blog readers could share their recipes also, and here is what I came up with.  Each Tuesday I’ll request a recipe from my readers in a specific category – appetizer, main dish, casserole, bread, salad, dessert, etc.  All of you have favorite recipes that you use over and over again because your family loves them. That’s the ones I want you to share!  I’ll ask you send them to me at my email addres – NOT as a comment to the blog.   Then on Friday, I’ll share my recipes AND yours!  What do you think?  Give me some feedback on this! 

Here’s the first installment of Bree’s Recipe Day. 

Appetizer

Bacon & Cheese Dip

There is nothing fancy or complicated about this one (in fact most of my favorites are easy, easy, easy).  This is one you can have ready in five minutes, and it will always get rave reviews!

  • 1 oz. pkg. original Ranch Dip mix
  • 1 pint sour cream (2 cups)
  • 1/4 cup bacon bits (the REAL bacon bits, not those icky artificial ones, please)
  • 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • Any dipper – tostitoes, fritos, etc.

Mix all ingredients together; refrigerate (or eat right away – better cold though). 

Breakfast Dish

BeBe’s Fruit

This is so simply it’s ridiculous.  My daughter-in-law, Blair,  gave the recipe to me after she made it for us when we were staying with her and Jason one weekend.  I make it every time Jordan and Matthew come because they will eat it for breakfast, for snacks, and as dessert for lunch and dinner.  I even made it for them in Arkansas over New Year’s.  They call it BeBe’s Fruit.

  • 1 can pineapple tidbits – drained
  • 1 package frozen strawberries, thawed & drained.  You can also use fresh strawberries, sliced.  It’s a little less sweet with fresh fruit, but still wonderful.
  • 1 small can sliced peaches, drained and cut into pieces
  • 3 bananas, sliced
  • 1 can peach pie filling – not drained

Mix fruit in bowl; add pie filling and coat fruit.  Refrigerate.  Yummy!  Serves 6-8.

Side Dish

Spinach Artichoke Casserole

If you are like me and can’t stand the thought of spinach and aren’t really a fan of artichokes either, I bet you are planning to skim right by this one.  Please don’t.  Our daughter, Julie, served this over the New Year holiday, and Ted and I loved it!  The trick is to make sure you REALLY squeeze all the water out of the cooked spinach before adding it to the recipe.

  • 1 (8 oz.) can artichokes (Julie used two cans, but one is what the recipe calls for)
  • 2 (10 oz.) pkgs. frozen, chopped spinach
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 8 oz. bacon, crisp-fried, crumbled
  • Grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Drain artichokes and cut into quarters.  Cook spinach, using pkg. directions, then DRAIN WELL – seriously – Julie squeezes the water out.  Combine cream cheese and butter in saucepan.  Cook over low heat until melted, stirring constantly.  Layer the artichokes, spinach, cream cheese mixture, and bacon in an 8×8 casserole.  Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.  Bake for 30 minutes, or until bubbly.    Serves 4-6.

Soup

Spicy Potato Soup

This is the Horton house traditional “Eve” meal – Thanksgiving, Christmas, whenever we have company in the house on the night before THE day, this is our dinner.  It’s even hardy enough for men who don’t like soup (like Ted).  He loves it.  Serve with your favorite cornbread recipe.

  • 2 lbs. ground beef (lean) – I like ground chuck
  • 4 cups peeled, cubed potatoes
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 (8 oz) cans tomato sauce
  • 4 cups water
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp. hot sauce

In a large kettle (dutch oven size), brown ground beef.  Drain well.  Add potatoes, onion, and tomato sauce.  Stir in water, salt, pepper and hot sauce.  Bring to boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 1 hour, or until potatoes are tender and soup has thickened.  Serve hot with cornbread.  Excellent cold weather dinner!  Serves 6-8. 

I hope you try one of these out this weekend – and if you do, let me know if you liked it!

“All great change begins at the dinner table.” . . . Ronald Reagan

I’ll leave you for the weekend with a few of my favorite shots from the last two weeks.

 
 

Maddie on a walk in Arkansas. She loved having her sweater on, and would sit up on her back legs while we put it on her. It was COLD outside!

 

"The moon on the breast of the new-fallen snow . . ."

Snow on the birches in Arkansas

 

 
 

This little dog belonged to Julie and Matt's neighbor. She came running when she spotted Maddie and Bear.

 

Bear seaching for that cold, white tennis ball.

Ted hiding from Matthew - planning a sneak attack with a snowball.

My sun porch nest.

 

 
 

If you pull these cute little fake fur hats down over your ears, how do you see?

The Bass Pro Shop in Macon, with a frozen water wheel.

 

Our yard guardians - "We can make it to the fence in 2 seconds - can you?"

Another amazing sunrise this morning.

See you on Monday, good Lord willing.  God bless.

“We should strive to live every day as if it were our last, for one day it will be!  I am convinced that when a man is prepared to die, he is also prepared to live.” . . . Billy Graham

 

Responses

  1. Guess I should have waited to read your blog in the MORNING…You made me HUNGRY, now I have to have a snack before going to bed!

  2. Mmmmm they all sound yummy!. Your idea sounds fabulous Brenda, altho I don’t have alot of homemade recipes, but you can bet I’ll be trying all the others!

    • Enjoy!

  3. During our flood, one of the things I lost was all of my personal favorites that I had collected over the years. This sounds like a fun and tasty Friday. I also love the pull quotes that you have been including in your blogs. They are food for the soul. Ah-ha! Food for the body and soul. You have never done a blog that I didn’t love and your diversity of topics keeps it ever fresh for your readers. Keep up the good work, Adopted Sister Inlaw.

    • And you have never failed to make me smile with your encouraging comments. Love you, adopted sister-in-law of mine!

  4. Loved the pics and the recipe idea. I will try the soup soon!

  5. this sounds like a GREAT idea; it seems like we just make the same things over and over and over……..I’ll try to remember to send you something on Thursdays!! just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy seeing the dogs enjoying life–we lost our little yorkie dog the middle of December, and life just isn’t the same without her! we DO have a very active, loving cat, so console ourselves w/her! enjoy your weekend………..

    • I’m so sorry about your little yorkie, Jan. I know a lot of people will disagree with me on this, but – to me – the best thing you can do for a heart that has lost a loving family pet is to get another one. I know grieving takes different amounts of time for everyone, but I’ve always had another furry face to love as quickly as a month after losing a faithful friend. As you say, our lives are just not the same without them, and there are so many out there needing good homes.

  6. Love the recipes, B! That potato soup sounds great.

    • It is yummy, Lana. Can’t wait to see the recipe you “share” next week!

  7. When I got up this morning, I couldn’t think of what I wanted to make for dinner tonight and then it dawned on me… Brenda’s recipes. :o) I made the Spicy Potato Soup tonight and it was Yuuummmmy! My cornbread recipe was just a good ole box of Jiffy corn bread mix. Excellent soup Brenda. We loved it. I highly recommend this one! Thanks for sharing.

    • I’m so glad you liked it, Joyce! It’s one of our favorites! Hope you had some left over for lunch tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

