Posted by: bree1972 | January 17, 2010

A Winter Weekend 01/18/2010

What exciting things can I say about this weekend?  Except for an exceptional three hours spent with girlfriends on Saturday afternoon, it was just a normal winter weekend in the south. 

Friday was a beautiful day, with temperatures in the 60’s.  I had hoped for a day like that to get outside and cut back my perennials, which had been rendered black and frozen during our two weeks of below-average cold weather.  I pulled my gardening gloves and pruning scissors out of the shed and went to work.  Ted always says he hopes I never really get mad at him during one of my “cut back” sessions in the yard, ’cause once I get going, there is very left above ground when I have finished.  After the plants are “pruned”, I pile pinestraw and leaves on top of what’s left, to protect the them from future cold spells.  I love it when spring arrives, and I can dig through all that mulch and find tender green shoots popping up from what looked dead and buried.  God sure knew what he was doing when he planned this beautiful earth with all its seasons.

Saturday was a mess!  Rain was supposed to move in late Saturday afternoon, but instead we awoke Saturday morning to a gully-washer (that’s southern for a bunch of rain).  The day before, Samille had sent an email to the girls, rounding up a crowd to go to the movies in Cordele Saturday afternoon.  A fantastic idea on a rainy Saturday!  I didn’t eat lunch because I knew I wanted popcorn.  Let me say right here that it has been at least 10 years since I have stepped foot inside a movie theatre (except on Mackinac Island, which you can’t count as a “normal” theatre when one movie a week is flown in, and they serve beer and wine along with the popcorn.  I’m not saying that’s a bad thing – I love that theatre – but it’s not your normal Carmike).  Anyway, we all got soaked getting into the moviehouse, and the first thing I saw was a sign advertising popcorn and a coke for $10.50.  I almost had heart failure!  Do you know how many bags of microwave popcorn and liters of coke you can buy for $10.50?

Once we got to the counter, I realized that the advertised “deal” was for a large popcorn and coke.  I ordered a small of both and received enough popcorn for me and five other people.  I didn’t feel so bad then when my total bill, including the ticket for the movie, was $13.25. A little later I saw someone going up the aisle with what had to have been the “large” popcorn, and I swear everyone in the entire place could have eaten from that one.

The movie we saw was “It’s Complicated” with Meryl Streep and Alex Baldwin, and I highly recommend it.  It wasn’t as much a chick flick as I thought it would be, and I’m pretty sure guys would like it too.  It is VERY funny!

Sunday was a quiet day.  It was gray and cloudy outside, humid, again in the 60’s.  Ted and I rode over to Dawn and Stevie’s late this morning.  Dawn had ordered a new backpack to take on our island trip, and I wanted to see if I wanted one like it.  It was monogrammed with her initials, and I thought about monogramming “bree” on one, then changed my mind.  She had also ordered a cute hat.  Right now,we are just worried that there is going to be NO SNOW at all on the island when we arrive.  There is very little now, and nothing that looks like snow coming in the next 10-day forecast. 

I hope all of you had a wonderful weekend.  See you tomorrow with a story about the best little sausage place in the south – and they do mail orders!

“Anytime you do something from the heart, people just know it.” . . . Brad Paisley

Responses

  1. My son and a few of his friends go to the UP this time of year to go snowmobiling. In fact, they are leaving Wed. and are pretty worried about not having enough snow. Last year at this time there was so much snow up there, they had a great time so I’m actually hoping for snow (in the UP…not here 🙂 ) for them. Right now it doesn’t look good. Keeping my fingers crossed for the both of you.

  2. Is there a chance to postpone if no snow? That would be odd. We will be watching the web cams for you.

  3. No, we’re committed to go. No refund on flight or motel (well, unless a blizzard cancels the flight, of course).


Leave a Reply

Categories

