Posted by: bree1972 | January 25, 2010

“Feels So Right” 01/26/2010

That big storm we were supposed to get last night fizzled out before it got here.  We had about five minutes of high wind and torrential rain, then it was all over.  This morning the sky is rapidly transforming to blue through the clouds, and there is the promise of a beautiful, if cool and windy, day on the ri’vah.   

After the storm

With all the days I’ve been spending inside lately because of the bad weather, there’s been plenty of time to think about what I want to do with this year.  Remember all those resolutions we made back on the first of January?  If you are like me, the majority of them revolved around personal goals – walk more, shed some pounds, read more, complain less, pray more.  Another goal of mine was to try and make this blog and the one on Mackinac Island more interesting, thereby increasing my readership. Looking at each of those goals more closely, it isn’t hard to see that they are all about one person – me. Where are the resolutions about doing more for others?    

The book I was reading this weekend that I just couldn’t put down was “Same Kind of Different As Me“.  Julie gave it to me for Christmas, giving it very high marks.  It’s the true story of how one woman made the most important difference she could make in a homeless man’s life.  From that beginning came a story that changed a whole city.  I highly recommend it, and I had the story on my mind this morning when I was straightening up the house.  I was listening to a traditional country station, and the band Alabama, sang “Feels So Right” – one of my all-time favorites.  And I thought, “I could meet every one of my personal goals and still not “feel so right’ as when I do one small thing for someone else. 

I’m writing this on Monday, and the wonder of another week lies before us all like an invitation.  How will we answer?   Couldn’t we all try to do just one thing that helps someone else this week.  The opportunities abound.  We could visit a neighbor, call a friend we haven’t heard from lately, fix dinner for a lonely senior citizen – and then go eat that dinner with them.  What about that caregiver who we know needs a morning or an afternoon to just get away for a little while.  Maybe a sick neighbor’s dog needs walking.  A visit to a nursing home, even if we don’t know any of the patients, would be such an act of love.  I’m sure the desk clerk could tell us someone who hasn’t been visited in weeks – or months.  Is there a single mom in your neighborhood who is trying to juggle working and children?  I’ve been there and done that, folks.  It’s hard.  You wouldn’t believe how much she would love for someone to call and say, “I’ll have dinner waiting for you when you get home today”.  I know my readers who are working everyday themselves will find this much harder to do.  But what about inviting a new employee to lunch, or offering help to a co-worker who is struggling with a deadline. 

What a gift we give ourselves when we give to others.  It will just “feel so right”.  I promise. 

Just waiting his turn.

“God is so big He can cover the  whole world with his Love and so small He can curl up inside your heart.”. . . from an email sent by a friend.

Responses

  1. Loved that book. Loved the quote at the end along with all the rest of it.

  2. I LOVE the quote of the day Brenda! That is awesome and as far as the rest of your blog goes today, I only have one word….AMEN!

  3. Love reading your blog –thanks so much. You most definitely have a gift for writing & through your writing it is evident that you honor Jesus Christ with your life. Thanks for that too.
    Same Kind of Different as Me is an awesome book—they have another one out called What Difference Do it Make?
    Can’t keep reading your blog without stopping to say a huge Thanks!

    • Hi Anne!

      Thank you so much for writing. I always love hearing from someone “out there” who has never written before. I know you’re there, because I have the numbers, but now I can put a name to another “number”. Hope you’re having a wonderful day. God bless.

      Brenda (Bree)

  4. Thank you for mentioning Same Kind of Different as Me on your blog! I work with Thomas Nelson, and we would love to follow your blog and hear what readers think of this moving book. I also want to let you know that Ron and Denver have just released a new book What Difference Do It Make? which updates readers on their activity since the first book came out. Please contact me with your mailing address if you are interested in receiving a complimentary copy of the new book for review on your site at your convenience.

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

