Posted by: bree1972 | January 31, 2010

Countdown . . . 02/01/2010

The weekend is over, and the week we leave for Mackinac Island is finally here!  Dawn and I are so excited we can hardly stand ourselves, and Jill is quietly smiling because she can’t wait to see the two Dixie Chicks fighting the snow and cold.  I frankly can’t wait to see it myself! 

It’s been another cold, dreary, wet weekend here in Georgia.  On Friday night we had 3 1/2″ of rain, and the ditches are all full, with some overflowing onto the road.  The creek that runs under the road just down from our house was almost over the road when Ted went to Stripling’s on Saturday morning.  He was concerned that the road might cave in.  That has happened in two other places on Flintside since we have lived here – effectively stranding us until road equipment could get in and “fix” it.

One bright spot in all that gray are the Cardinal families that have started a commune in our backyard.  This winter – no clue why – the brightly colored males and more conservatively dressed females have appeared in droves around our feeder.  This afternoon we counted 10 Cardinals waiting in line for a perch – five males and five females.

This isn't a very good photo - I had to take it through the glass of the sun porch so I wouldn't scare the birds. You can also see what a gray day it was.

 

The island got a sprinkling of snow last week, but today the lake effect snow machine cranked up and dropped two inches of new snow on Mackinac (that was at last measuring, and it was still coming down).  More snow is forecast throughout this week, and temps will be no higher than the 20’s.  All that snow gear Dawn and I bought will get worn – thank goodness!  I was using the live webcam located on top of the Chippewa Hotel this morning, and snapped this photo of the sun coming up over the frozen Straits.  It’s still hard to believe we will be there to see it in person on Friday morning.

The packing process has begun, and the bed in one of the guest rooms is now filled with little piles of this and that.  Turtlenecks, longjohns, snowpants, fleece jackets, fleece vests, hats, gloves, scarves.  Something is surely missing, but I won’t remember what it is until I climb into the taxi with George on Thursday afternoon and start down that long, cold road to town from the airport.  I can just hear me saying, “Oh no, George!  I forgot my (whatever)!  I’m going to freeze!”  And George will just nod and say, “Yep.”

 Here’s the plan for the rest of the week, good Lord willing.  My next post will be Thursday morning.  I plan to write from the hotel on Wednesday night.  Dawn and I will spend the night in Atlanta and jump a jet, along with Mike Forrester, on Thursday morning at 9 a.m. (Delta 5225).  We should be in Flint, MI by 11 a.m.  Jill will meet us at the airport, we will load all our stuff in the SUV Mike has rented (oh please, Lord, let it be really, really BIG), and we will drive 3-4 hours to St. Ignace.  That means we will get to cross the Mackinac Bridge!  If we don’t make the last scheduled flight from St. Ignace to the island at 3:45, Mike has chartered a flight at 6 p.m.  Hmmm, I think that means we would be taking off and landing in the dark  in that little 5-seater Cessna – not real excited about that, but what’cha gonna do!

From Thursday morning until we get back home on Tuesday (Feb.9), the plan is to post something to this site everyday.  I will be posting the same information to the Mackinac Island blog – IF I can do them both at the same time.  If not, I will let you know WHICH blog to go to http://bree1972.wordpress.com (island blog) OR https://bree1976.wordpress.com (lake blog).

I can’t wait to share the trip with all of you, and please get ready to laugh, because I feel sure Dawn and I will be like two fish out of water up there.  We’d all appreciate your prayers for safe travels and for our families we are leaving here at home.  Stevie and Ted have been wonderful about us going.  Love you guys!

See you Thursday morning (or you might go online between 10-11 p.m. Wednesday night, and I should have it posted).  God bless.

“You’ll never know that God is all you need until God is all you’ve got.” . . . Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life.

P.S.  By the way, Bear is still petitioning to go with us.  You gotta give him high marks in persistance!

Responses

  1. My heart will go with you but my body will stay here in front of the fireplace and keep warm….but I will send all of you warm thoughts. Love the Rick Warren quote and the man always seems to make good sense. You get an A+ for your excellent selection each day.

    • Thanks, Cathie. I’m re-reading The Purpose Driven Life – again. Seems I gleam something new each time I go on this 40-day journey.

  2. I’m just so excited to follow your trip!! and hey, that’s a gorgeous sunrise pic – I just can’t get the computer going early enough to see one these days (6 am is very early to turn on the ‘puter!)

    Drive carefully on the interstate!

    • Thanks Irene! We are soooo excited!

  3. 3 DAYS, 9 HOURS & 3 MINUTES, I’ll be waiting for you at the Airport in Flint.
    Bear, just hop in the car & come anyway. You will LOVE Mackinac in the winter.
    Safe Travels everyone.

  4. I was going to jokingly comment about you probably already being packed on your other blog, but thought better of it, after all, we’re still a few days away.
    Then, not only do I read it here, you have (naturally) pictures to boot!
    I suppose I should start packing soon, eh?

  5. I think I’m almost as excited to read about your trip as you are to go. I can’t wait! Have a safe trip and Mike you will be just fine (do you have earplugs? lol) 😉
    I’ve checked the webcam and have seen it snowing the last couple of days. It sure is purdy. 🙂

    • I think he has the earplugs. I HOPE he has the patience of Job.

  6. It will be exciting to watch your trip to the island. I would love to being going with you. Will do that in thoughts if not in person. Be safe on the drive from Flint.

    • Thanks, Charlotte!

  7. As usual my fingers and mind didn’t get it together on what should be typed. Also, love the picture of Bear. I think you should take him. I can see him running through the snow. What fun.

    • Bear WOULD love to go. Unfortunately, he wouldn’t love being in a cage in the bottom of the plane – or riding on top of the SUV (which would be the only place we could put him)!

  8. I’m looking forward to enjoying the trip with you through your posts. Have a great time!

    • Thanks, Julie!

  9. How about picking a web cam, then the day, then we’ll all synchronize our watches to see you wave to all your readers from the Island? We’d love to see you all in your winter garb. Hope the trip is everything and more that you wish for. Safe travels to all!

  10. just typed a REALLY good comment, AND THEN LOST IT!!!! so I’ll just say now, I’m looking forward to a fun trip to Mackinac with you all; flying from St Ignace to the island in the winter is one of my FAVORITE things!! safe journeys tomorrow and Friday, and will be checking your blog in the days to come!!

    • Make sure you check in the morning for the webcam we’ll be on at 11 a.m. Friday morning.!


Leave a Reply

Categories

