Posted by: bree1972 | February 11, 2010

A Disconnected Day 02/11/2010

Thank you so much for the outpouring of concern, emails, prayers, and beautiful comments that came following yesterday’s post, “24 Hours”.  Since writing that story, I have spoken with several island residents and with Don.  He is with family down state in Michigan.  A joint memorial service for Karen and Edye will be held at 11 a.m. on Saturday, February 13, at the First United Methodist Church in South Lyon, Michigan.  I know Don and his family would appreciate your continued prayers.

It’s been a really strange day.  In her blog from the island this morning, Liz said she felt disconnected and disoriented.  I have felt the same way.  I just still couldn’t seem to get my head wrapped around what happened.  Then I remembered a poem a dear friend gave me when my daddy passed away.  It’s by Henry Van Dyke, and I’d like to share it with you.  It helped me today.

I am standing  by the seashore.
A ship at my side spreads her white sails to the morning breeze
and starts for the blue ocean.
She is an object of beauty and strength,
and I stand and watch
until at last she hangs like a speck of white cloud
just where the sun and sky come down to mingle with each other.

Then someone at my side says, ‘There she goes!
Gone where? Gone from my sight – that is all.

She is just as large in mast and hull and spar
as she was when she left my side
and just as able to bear her load of living freight
to the places of destination.
Her diminished size is in me, not in her.

And just at the moment when someone at my side says,
‘There, she’s gone! ‘ ,
there are other eyes on another shore watching her coming,
and other voices ready to take up the glad shout :
‘Here she comes!’

I’m going to take the rest of this week off from blogging.  I need a few days – to entertain an overnight guest Thursday evening, to celebrate Valentine’s Day with Ted and our friends Saturday night at Daphne’s, and just to think happier thoughts.  I’ll be back on Monday with the rest of the story of our Winter Festival trip and what’s been happening on the ri’vah over the weekend.  Would you believe we are supposed to get snow Friday!  If it comes, Dawn and I are ready with all the gear!

We’ll also get back to our recipe day next week.  Let’s do appetizers!  You can go ahead and be getting out your favorite “finger food” recipes, but I’ll ask for them next Tuesday.

You will never know how much your heartfelt words meant today.  Hugs to you all, and thank you, my friends – for caring.  On Monday, we will speak of happier things.  God bless.

“A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words.” . . . Author Unknown

Responses

  1. Such a hearbreaking loss… I am keeping you and your friends in my prayers.

  2. what a wonderful portrayal of life/death…..as Christians, that is just what we believe….but it doesn’t change the loss that those who are close to the one “sailing away” will feel, nor should it. Just some words that will help them/us get through the time it takes to feel like getting back into the world’s issues again. Thank you, Bree, for being able to share w/all, these wonderful words of help; and God bless you as you take your week off from the blog. We all are glad you know how to take care of yourself, as well as others. love and prayers………….

  3. Dear Bree, My dear mother passed away January 21. I read the ship poem at her funeral because it expresses what I believe about dying. I believe all our family and friends are waiting to welcome us into a new different kind of life. My sympathies to the families and friends of Karen and Edye.

  4. What a great poem, good meaning too! See you guys Saturday for happy times.

  5. My heart goes out to you and Dawn along with the family of those two precious ladies. I’m grateful that their last hours were filled with fun, family and friends.


Leave a Reply

Categories

