Posted by: bree1972 | February 25, 2010

Break the Fast 02/26/2010

Before we get started on food, I need to update the “Lest We Forget” post.  Sometimes my failing memory bank really makes me crazy.  Under family members who served in Vietnam, I totally forgot to add Charlie “Frog” McMichael, my brother-in-law in New Orleans.  Charlie was a carrier pilot during that war, and flew as a commercial pilot for Delta until he retired.  To make it up to you, Frog, I promise to keep a bowl of the breakfast fruit you love so much in the refrigerator the entire time you and Cathie are on the island this summer.
____________________
John Gunther, the American journalist and author said, “All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast.”  I didn’t have to think about that very long before I disagreed – at least with the “all” part.  There are a lot of qualities that make up our happiness, and if you are a morning person and a fan of morning food, those two items might be up there at the top of your “happiness” list.  But my rendition of that quote would be, “A leisurely morning can make you happy.
 
I love our mornings here at the lake.  Usually by the time I wake up, Ted has put Maddie and Bear out – and let them back in – made coffee, and is sitting on the sun porch – reading or watching our Mallard duck couple fly in to break their fast under the bird feeder.  He has his Lazy Boy leaned back with his feet up, and Maddie is curled up on his legs – the warmest place out there until the two little space heaters get some heated air circulating.  If I sleep too long, Bear will get annoyed and make a running leap onto the bed with his full 75 lbs. That wakes me up.  Then he will proceed to nuzzle my neck and any other uncovered spots he can find with his cold nose.  Nothing like a cold nose on a cold morning to  get you going.  There’s no going back to sleep – so I get up, feed the dogs, pour my coffee and head for the porch. 
 
And thus starts the “leisurely” part of the morning.  If neither Ted nor I has anywhere to be, we may sit out there for an hour or two – sipping coffee, chatting, reading, and letting the dogs in and out.  Eventually I will go get my yogurt – and that’s my breakfast.  Ted usually has a banana. 
 
Our “big” breakfast meals come when we have company over the weekend.  I’ll do a casserole and my breakfast fruit (my daughter-in-law Blair’s recipe), or we’ll have scones from Tommy Mac’s in Albany (a little specialty grocery with homemade items), and occasionally we’ll do the whole Southern eggs, grits, bacon and toast thing.  I’m always looking for new breakfast recipes for those special weekends, and readers shared some really great ones.  So here we go.
 
GOLD RUSH BRUNCH (Submitted by Diane Swihart – Elkhart, Indiana)
  
From Diane:  “I just started reading both your blogs in the last couple of months.  I live in Elkhart, Indiana, and it’s the frozen tundra today as we have slush, snow, and cold weather!  This recipe is a big hit in my family.” 
  • 2 pkgs. “Simply Potatoes” brand Southwest Style Shredded Hash Browns
  • 1 (24 oz) carton sour cream
  • 12 hard-boiled eggs, sliced
  • 4 cups mild cheddar cheese, shredded (save 1 cup for the topping)
  • 2 small pkgs. Canadian Bacon, sliced
  • 1 cup onions, diced
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray Pam on 9″ x 13″ pan. 

Mix all ingredients together, except for 1 cup of shredded cheese, in large bowl.  Pour into pan.  Top with the extra cheese. 

Bake for 40-45 minutes.  Serve with salsa on the side, if desired. 

____________________ 

  BREAKFAST PASTRY (Submitted by Ed Feagin – Lake Blackshear, GA) 

 From Ed:  “This is simple and perfect for a leisurely, informal weekend.  My daughter and granddaughter love them.” 

  • 1 can crescent rolls
  • 1/2 cup orange marmalade
  • 1/2 cup apricot preserves
  • 1 egg
  • Sliced almonds
  • Sesame seeds

Separate the eight crescent triangles.  

Make egg wash:  Beat one egg and 1 Tblsp. water together.

Mix the orange marmalade and apricot preserves, and microwave 30 seconds. 

Spread the marmalade/preserves mixture on each crescent triangle, and roll up from the small end.  Place each on baking sheet and brush with egg wash. 

Sprinkle each with almonds, then sesame seeds. 

Bake at 375 degrees until golden brown. 

____________________ 

Jane Kemp sent in two recipes and asked me to choose which one to publish.  They both sound delicious, and since I have enough room, I’m including them both. 

SWEDISH COFFEE CAKE (Submitted by Jane Kemp – Minnesota)  

From Jane:  “A very simple recipe…using basic ingredients and very easy to put together. The finished cake is moist and cinnamon-y, with a nice crunch to the topping.  Perfect with a hot cup of coffee or tea!” 

  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup butter or margarine
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 to 2 1/2 Tbsps. cinnamon
  • Cinnamon to dust with

Mix the brown sugar, flour, butter and tablespoons of cinnamon together until crumbly. Set aside 1½ cups of this mixture for the topping. 

To the remaining mixture: add the eggs, buttermilk and baking soda. 

(NOTE: If you do not have buttermilk, just add 2 Tablespoons of vinegar to regular milk and use that.) 

Pour the batter into an ungreased 9″ x 13″ pan.  Sprinkle the reserved 1½ cups of crumble topping on the batter, then dust cinnamon over the entire top of this, until the topping is covered. Dot with a couple thin slices of butter. 

Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. 

OVER NIGHT FRENCH TOAST 

  •  6-8 slices Italian or French bread, cut 3/4″ thick
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 Tblsp. granulated sugar (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 Tblsp. butter
  • Powdered sugar for dusting

Combine eggs, milk, sugar, salt & vanilla. 

Place bread slices in a 9″ x 13″ pan.  Pour above mixture over slices of bread in the pan.  Turn to cover completely with egg mixture.

Refrigerate overnight.  In the morning remove from refrigerator and turn bread once more.

Melt butter on hot griddle (350 degrees).  Fry bread slices until golden on both sides.  Dust with powdered sugar and serve with Maple syrup, preserves, fruit, OR this yummy cinnamon-almond syrup.

Cinnamon-Almond Syrup

  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2/3 cup white corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 (5 oz.) can evaporated milk
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 Tblsp. butter

Combine sugar, water, corn syrup and cinnamon.  Boil for 2 minutes; remove from heat.
Add milk, almond and butter; stir until blended.
Serve warm over french toast, waffles or pancakes  . . YUM!

___________________

These last two recipes are mine.

MY FAVORITE BREAKFAST CASSEROLE (Submitted by Brenda Horton – Lake Blackshear, GA) 

From Brenda:  “There are as many breakfast casserole recipes as there are cooks.  I have several, but this is the one I “do” most often.  It’s simple, doesn’t require a lot of ingredients, can be made the night before (except for baking), and you just can’t mess it up.  Of course, if you have some good ole Stripling’s sausage, you are already way ahead in the delicious department, but any good pan sausage will do just fine.”

  • 6 slices white bread, torn into little pieces
  • 6 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 lb. sausage – mild, medium, or hot – your preference
  • 1 pint half & half
  • 1 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, grated.  NOTE:  I use sharp cheddar for everything just because I like the taste.  If you’re not a sharp cheese fan, mild or medium works great.

Coat 9″ x 13″ casserole dish with butter (or spray with Pam).  Spread bread pieces on bottom on pan. 

Cook and drain sausage; mix all remaining ingredients with sausage.  Pour over bread cubes. 

Cover with foil and refrigerate overnight. 

Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes.

 

BLUEBERRY QUICK BREAD

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 Tblsp. vegetable oil
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups fresh OR frozen blueberries.  NOTE:  If using frozen blueberries, do not thaw before adding to batter.

Vanilla Sauce

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 Tblsp. cornstarch
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup butter, cubed

In large mixing bowl, beat the egg, milk and oil.  Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt; gradually add to egg mixture, beating just until combined.  Fold in blueberries. 

Pour into greased 9″ x 5″ x 3″ loaf pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near center comes out clean.  Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack.  Cool completely.

For sauce:  Combine sugar and cornstarch in a saucepan.  Stir in cream until smooth; add butter.  Bring to boil over medium heat.  Cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened.  Serve with blueberry bread.

____________________

There you have it – some great breakfast recipes for the weekend – or anytime!

I’m so excited that everyone seems to enjoy this feature.  An added bonus for me is I’m getting to know some of my readers better, because if I have a question about a recipe, I will email that submitter directly.  I am so blessed to have each of you in my life.

By the way, all the photos in today’s post are from Lana Stuart’s cooking blog.  The header is a photo of her delicious Banana Nut Bread, and if you’d like to add that recipe to the rest of these breakfast goodies, click here: http://www.lanascooking.com/2009/11/05/banana-nut-bread/.  Thanks, Lana, for allowing me to “steal” from you one more time, my friend!

See you back here on Monday, good Lord willing.  Have a fantastic, fun, friend-filled, fascinating weekend!  God bless.

“Life is a big canvas, throw all the paint on it you can.” . . . Danny Kaye

Responses

  1. Yum! New recipes to try – thanks for posting them – I can’t wait to start fixin’ these up for my guys. Happy Friday!

  2. I’m not a big breakfast fan, it’s usually some yogurt or fruit but these recipes look yummy. Might have to give them a try. But who says breakfast is always for breakfast, sometimes we eat it for dinner 🙂 Thanks Brenda.

    • I love it! My favorite time to have breakfast is on a cold night for supper!

  3. Thanks for thinking of me. You can forget me any time you want, as long is there is fruit is promised. Say hi to Ted and the dogs. Are you and Dawn still modeling for The House of Michelin Puffy Coats or has it warmed up?

    • Still cold, Charlie. Dawn and I walked for an hour Wednesday morning. We were laughing about what wimps we were because we thought it was really too cold to walk at 51 degrees. If we had been on the island, we would have gone out if it was two degrees – and smiled about it. There’s just something about crunching through that snow that makes it worth it. Below freezing here this morning, but warmly up nicely. Love ya’ll!

  4. I wanted to send you the german pancake and apples recipe that my mom always makes….but she has the recipe at home and I don’t. I need to get that from her 🙂 These all look yummy and I’m definitely going to try some of them. I have been trying to catch up on last summer’s posts on your Mac Island blog….and now you’ve sucked me into reading this one, too! But that’s a good thing! I look forward to reading what you have to post each day! Have a great weekend!

    • Awww – thanks, Kristi! Go ahead and get that recipe from your mom – soon I will ask for Miscellaneous Recipes – you can send it then!

  5. I FINALLY made Ted’s Mac & Cheese…TWO THUMBS UP FROM EVERYONE. Now my friends THINK I can cook! HA


Leave a Reply

Categories

