Posted by: bree1972 | March 21, 2010

Just a Walk in the Park 03/22/2010

There were so many things I should have been doing this weekend to get ready to be out of commission for a while – but I didn’t do any of them.  Instead, Ted and I spent the majority of the weekend just being together and having fun.  We drank coffee and chatted on the sunporch each morning, read some, did a little planning for our upcoming trip to Michigan, ordered an electric fireplace for the condo on the island (to be delivered after we get there), took the dogs for a walk at the state park, and then spent Saturday night with friends at a low country boil hosted by Marianne and Cecil. 

Since I’ve begun walking several days a week with Dawn, I alternate dogs that I take with me.  On some days, Ted will take the “leftover” dog on a walk while I’m gone.  He had taken Bear over to the State Park one day last week, and he wanted all of us to go over for a walk on Saturday.  It was such a beautiful day that we wore shorts and t-shirts.  Oh my gosh, do I ever need to get some sun.  We talked about how we have never been as white as we are this year.  I guess it’s because even in the winter in south Georgia there are usually days we can go out on the boats, or walk, or bike.  So we usually kept a little “color” all year.  This winter – no way! 

There had been an outside wedding at the Retreat on Friday, and the decorations were still in place when we arrived Saturday morning.

These are coots. We had lots of these water birds snacking under our bird feeder until we put up the fence.

 

There was a fishing tournament on the river this weekend. Lots of trucks and boat trailers.

The campground at the state park is very popular. This part is on the water.

More happy campers.

A beautiful old live oak tree - Georgia's state tree.

The park nature trail - Bear had gotten sidetracked by some new smell, and is hurrying to catch up with Ted and Maddie.

Another part of the park's campgrounds - this area is more wooded and not on the water.

A huge short-leafed pine. Every surface at the lake is covered in the yellow "powder" produced by pine trees in the spring. Allergy sufferers, beware!

The area on the left is a discus golf course. Don't know much about this sport, but it involves throwing a frisbee into a raised container - and keeping score, of course!

 

There is a section at the park reserved for model plane flyers.

Looks real, doesn't it?

These two guys were "dueling" it out with their planes.

Dog fight!

After a wonderul low country boil Saturday night at Cecil and Marianne’s, everyone who brave enough got a turn doing karaoke. Here Stevie and his mom Marianne belt out a “somebody done somebody wrong” song.

Rain moved in Sunday, and it was cooler again.  But that’s ok.  Spring has arrived, and there’s no going back now.  We’ve seen robins, a brown thrasher has built a haphazard nest in the camellia bush since last weekend, and our crabapple tree is slowly turning pink.  God is getting ready to turn the earth from brown to green once again.  Let’s all just sit back and enjoy the show.

“I stuck my head out the window this morning and spring kissed me bang in the face. ” . . . Langston Hughes

Responses

  1. Spring is on the way and I’m so ready to enjoy it! Our weekend was really chilly, chilly enough to snow, but thank goodness it wasn’t sticking to the ground. It’s suppose to warm back up this week and I look at it the same way that you do Brenda, there’s no turning back now. It’s a coming! 🙂

  2. Dear Bree,
    We have never met..I only know you through your blog…both Mackinac and Blackshear Lake. I pray your surgery is successful and that you have a speedy recovery. I’ll be thinking of you on Wednesday.

  3. I agree, it’s so wonderful to see the summer birds returning and things beginnning to show life again after the long, hard winter. Can’t WAIT for blooming flowers & green trees again…and to shed the coats when we go outside!

    O.K., I’m admitting my ignornace, or maybe it’s just my ‘midwestern-ism”, but what exactly is a ‘low country boil’??! smiles…

    You’ll be so busy Bree, as “the” day zooms closer, so I’m sending you my happy thoughts & prayers to you today.. I hope you sail thru it all like a breeze off the lake on Mackinac Island! It’s good you just spent the weekend with Ted & your pups & enjoyed it all..rather than obsessing about the “to do” list- that ‘ol thing will always be there!
    Jane

  4. Spring is in the air and in your step. I think I said it before but you’ll carry one body to the hospital but a thousand of our souls. This is just a speed bump and you will be on the mend by this time Thursday. We’re all with you.

    One of the things that surprised me is that my dogs were very deferential when Charlie was sick. They have a sixth sense about someone not feeling well and this is your first chance to see what a great service dog Bear is going to be.

    We love you and will be praying for you (and Ted).

  5. Hi Brenda,

    We haven’t met yet, but hope to this summer. I am a friend of Jill’s. I have a home on Mackinac Island, the old family homestead. I’m not a resident,tho.

    I enjoy your blog so much, and have been reading since Jill told me about it. You surely have a magic touch for writing.

    I just want to wish you the best for your upcoming surgery.You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers that day.

    Take care, KITTY

    • Thank you so much, Kitty, for your prayers. I just love Jill. She is one of the sweetest people I know. I would love to meet you this summer – can’t wait to get back to the island! God bless.


Leave a Reply

Categories

