Posted by: bree1972 | April 5, 2010

Decisions, Decisions! 4/6/2010

Wow, it’s been a busy Monday!  Armed with all the suggestions sent in by readers, I contacted my trusted computer store in Albany and had a heart to heart with the owner.  He knows how frustrated I have been with the performance of my HP and fully understood that I wasn’t willing to continue “fixing” it.  He offered to research Dell’s, Acer’s, Sony’s, and a few other laptops for me to see what kind of deals he could find – with all the features I needed, but without bell and whistles I wouldn’t use.

I talked with him late this afternoon, and he was still searching.  The specials he had found so far were not spectacular, but I know he is truly trying to find me a laptop I will love for several years to come.  I told him I would be willing to wait on a purchase until the end of the week, but I wanted a new laptop in my hands, ready to blog, by the middle of next week.  I will continue to give short updates on Ted’s little notebook.

I took a big step today and went for a long walk with Dawn.  It felt so good to get out in the sunshine, and Dawn slowed down to my “slow crawl” pace – thank you Dawn!  I continue to improve day by day, and from this point it is going to be really, really hard to go slowly.  I feel REALLY good, and felt even better after the walk.  But I will try to remember that it hasn’t yet been two weeks since my surgery (I guess I’m still looking for my common sense).

It occurred to me this morning that six weeks from today, good Lord willing, Ted and I and our merry little menagerie will step off the ferry onto the island for the summer.  The bittersweetness of that – leaving the ri’vah and friends to travel to my heart’s home – seems to be affecting me earlier this year.  Maybe it’s because I’m another year older or maybe my emotions are just closer to the surface because of the surgery.  For whatever reason, leaving this year will be harder, but I’m already smiling just thinking about that first whiff of horse poop. 

The azaleas and dogwoods are all beginning to bloom on our street.  By the time the new computer comes in, I should have some beautiful photos to post!  I will try to post something every day or two to let you know what is going on.  God bless.

P.S.  Oh my gosh – I almost forgot.  Ted and I finally watched The Blind Side Sunday afternoon.  If you haven’t seen it, please rent or buy the DVD, throw a couple of bags of popcorn in the microwave, and settle down to be thoroughly entertained.  Loved it!

Responses

  1. Only 6 more weeks to go, wow, that will go by fast too. It seems the older we get the faster time goes. 😦 I noticed on the webcam that there is more and more activity all the time so I am assuming that the island is also getting ready. 🙂 I can’t wait!
    Glad to hear how much better your feeling Brenda, but just remember to rest every now and then too 😉 Have a wonderful Tuesday!

  2. Enjoy reading your blog everyday. So glad to hear that you are improving.


Leave a Reply

Categories

