Posted by: bree1972 | November 3, 2010

Halloween on the Ri’vah and a Visit from a Mackinac Island Friend 11/04/2010

Halloween on the Ri’vah

I had no intention of “dressing up” for Halloween last weekend.  When it comes to creative costuming, I am . . . not creative.  Not even remotely.  When forced to attend a costume party, I usually ride into Albany to a seasonal store and purchase something suitable for a woman of a certain age – like a bag lady.  This year, when Halloween rolled around and we had a costume party invitation, I said to Ted, “Please let’s not dress up.”  And Ted said, “Ok.”  So I was going as Brenda the Blogger, and Ted was going as . . . Ted.

But then Ed called.

He and Sally were cleaning out closets and came across Halloween costumes they had worn years and years ago.  Ted had already told Ed we weren’t “costuming”, but Ed said to come down and just see if there was anything we could use.  After looking through their collection, I decided to be a witch, and Ted pulled together a clown outfit.  Then, as I was dressing Saturday night for the party, I decided to change the witch costume into a gypsy costume because I didn’t want to wear the witches’ hat all night.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have anything else I needed to really look like a gypsy.  Consequently, I ended up looking like a hatless witch or a “no bling” gypsy – take your pick.

Hey - I SAID I had no costume creativity!

Luckily, others at the lake are creative, and the party was full of great costumes:

A scary convict.

 

A really cute peacock and a really funny clown.

 

Loved this pirate couple!

 

Hmmm - if I had added Ted's clown tie to my outfit, I could have been a witchy gypsy clown!

The first place winners! My best buddy Dawn and hubby Stevie.

 

A Visit from a Mackinac Island Friend

Before we left Mackinac Island Joan Barch mentioned that she would be coming south on I-75 sometime in November.  Her mom lives in Florida, and she was going down to spend a few weeks.  “You’ll be coming right by our house – you have to stop!” I remember saying to Joan.  A few phone calls and some emails flew back and forth, and about 7 o’clock Tuesday night Joan and her two cats, Tiki and Pewter, pulled into our driveway.  She immediately declared, “You guys live in the country!”  No kidding!

We had a great visit with Joan, took her to Daphne’s for dinner, and she and her feline traveling companions left the lake around nine this morning, after enjoying a few minutes sitting on the sunporch, watching the sun come up over the water. It was so good to see her, and maybe she will stop over on her trip back north!

Early this morning, as Joan was leaving.

 

Tiki and Pewter. Maddie went crazy with two kitties in the house to pester. They hid under the bed in the guest room, and Maddie barked herself silly. She was NOT silly enough to go under the bed after them though. Bear took one sniff and decided they were nothing of interest to him and ignored them the rest of the evening. Beautiful cats and good travelers.

 

I just received a phone call confirming that I would be at the Pet Therapy Training on Saturday and Sunday in Albany.  I am so excited to get started on this process, and I’ll be back on Monday to tell you all about it.  I hope it’s an “open-book” test – I always did a lot better on those!  Also, tonight (Thursday) is the first time I get to go to a Girls Night Out on the ri’vah (GNO).  A friend of mine, Deb, came up with this great idea for the ri’vah girls to get together on a regular basis to play cards or Bunco.  I missed the first two months of the gathering because we were in Michigan, but tonight I’m going!  I’ve heard through the grapevine that the “game” part of these parties never gets going, and it turns into a chat party.  More on that next week also.  See you Monday!

Isn't he going to make a great therapy dog!!!

Responses

  1. They are going to love you and Bear. I’m sure you’ll be the hit of the hospital or nursing home with Bear’s big loving snuggles. Sounds like you have been having fun but I do have to agree that creating a costume is not your strong suit. Ted looks smashing.

  2. I’m going to have to agree with Cathie on putting together a costume, but then again, I can’t say that I’m any better. 😉 Doesn’t matter though, as long as you had fun that’s all that matters.
    Bear is going to make a fantastic therapy dog!!. Big ole ball of fur to hug. I think Bear will like it as much as the patients.
    Nice that Joan was able to stop by on her way to Florida.

    Hmm, now where is Barb with that big ole slab of Mackinac fudge? 😉

    • LOL! You guys have just convinced me that I will never again attend a costume party “in costume”. Now I have outside confirmation that I’m a dud in the costuming department. Love it!

    • Welcome back, Hilde!

      What brand of fudge do you like? What’s your favorite flavor? I’ll get you some the next time I’m on the island. 🙂

      • Boy your really tempting me now! Favorite flavor has got to be chocolate,
        chocolate and chocolate. (Can you tell I like chocolate?) lol.
        Seriously, thanks for the welcome back…it feels good to be here. 🙂

      • Straight-up chocolate is my favorite too, but I think the pink fudge is the prettiest. 🙂

  3. Bree! You’re not a ‘dud’. Your talents simply lie elsewhere. :o)

    • What Barbara said–we would rather have you be “Blog” talented.

      • Yeah!

  4. What a fun evening you must have had! You were a lovely witch!!

    • Awww – thank you, Annie.

  5. I personally LOVE black! Liked your dress and earrings. I wouldn’t wear the witch hat either. They slip and make my head too hot!!! You could have been mugged on your way to the party, losing your gypsy jewelry!!

    Ted looked great, kind of Scottish, without the kilt!
    Dawn & Stevie were awesome….LOVE the red dress!! Stevie’s make-up was great. I’m not great at costumes either. I’m sure everyone had a great time, costume or no costume. Enjoyed the photos.

    Glad you are starting the therapy class. Bear looks like the PERFECT dog. I know both of your hearts will be filled with joy when you start your “tours”. God Bless both of you for doing such a fine thing.

    Your friend looks so happy and her kittens are adorable. They look so sweet cuddling in the carrier.

    • I thought Ted looked Scottish too!

  6. Most really great Halloween costumes make it too hard to eat and/or breathe.

    I hope Joan’s kitties are used to riding in her car. Mine would be yowling the entire time.

    Don’t forget to buy Bear a backpack for school.

    Have fun at GNO. Tell Ted not to wait up. 🙂

    • Joan’s kitties are GREAT travelers. No meowing at all. I never knew they were in the house except when Maddie was annoying them.

  7. I’m going to attend my granddaughter’s wedding in January. Do you think I could borrow Ted’s tie? That’s a beaut.

    And seriously, Bear is a REAL beauty. I don’t care if he is a he. He is one gorgeous dog. I’ll be very surprised if the patients don’t think he’s just the best and look forward to seeing him every time. I wish you the best in your training. I know you and Bear will both do well.

    Is Joan the Joan from Ann Arbor?

    Yes, your talent is certainly in blogging. I don’t see how anyone could do it any better than you do. If I had an award to give you, I certainly would.

    • Hilde,

      It is good to see that you’re feeling well enough to be on the computer and do a little “talking.” Keep on feeling better everyday.

      • Thank you Lowell …I’m working on it. 🙂

    • Love your tie comment, Lowell. 🙂

  8. Finally found time to read your Blog today. (I have been busy clearing out my mom’s home since they say she is never going to return…). Thanks so much for the super fun evening at your home and especially for the great dinner. I am so lucky to have friends like you two. (My mom seems to be very happy living in the nursing home. How great is that!!!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

