Posted by: bree1972 | November 18, 2010

P-Cubed (polyurethane, paint . . . and patience) 11/19/2010

All afternoon I’ve been inhaling the fumes of polyurethane and paint – that fine mixture of aromas that only someone suffering from a completely stopped up nose could ignore – and my nose is functionally normally, thank you very much – or at least it was.  My head is splitting.  How Charlie is still standing I have no clue.  He’s been up close and personal with both those products all day, while I’ve tried to stay as far away from the rooms he’s working on as possible. 

Is it finished?  No.  Will it be finished by Friday night when Blake arrives to be with us through Thanksgiving week? No.  Close maybe – but not finished. 

We’ve come a long way though, and I think when it’s time to write Monday’s blog, we will maybe only lack the finishing touches on Ted’s bathroom and maybe some trim in our bedroom.  If we had one more week, we’d be good to go – but we don’t.  Charlie starts a new job on Monday, and whatever is left, we will finish ourselves – after Thanksgiving. 

My main goal now is to have everything back in its place by Saturday morning AND to be able to get to the washer and dryer, which is inside a double closet on the sunporch (which has just been polyurathaned for the second time in 24 hours).  You folks know how I am about my wash – every day it’s got to be done – sometimes twice a day.  And as of this writing, I haven’t washed a load of clothes in 34 hours.  Maybe that’s why I’m feeling so faint.

When we cleared out the sunroom so the ceiling and floor could be "done", we added even more stuff to both guest bedrooms. On the wall you can't see in this photo, my desk is set up in the corner (blocking the bathroom door), my laptop is nestled between stacks of books and old blinds, and I'm typing at my own risk. I wonder if the emergency room staff would look at me strangely if I arrived with a wrist broken by attacking window treatments.

 

This is the other guest room - where Blake is supposed to be sleeping for a week - beginning Friday night. It's also where I'vebeen nesting every night to watch movies on my laptop - because only Ted can see the TV over the couches stacked on top of each other in the den.

 

Here's our idea of a sectional sofa - two sofas (actually, it's two sofas and part of a chair)taken apart and piled as high as possible. Maddie tried to climb to the top of Couch Everest today, but was stopped by an avalanche of pillows.

 

 

The new and VERY shiny sunroom floor - I love it! (I will love it even more when I can walk on it!) Patience, patience.

I'll close with this one finished spot - my corner in the den. New green color on the walls, courtesy of Charlie, and new blinds in the windows, courtesy of my brilliant and talented Ted.

Blake comes in Friday, and Jason and Blair arrive on Wednesday night.  It will be the first time in years that both my boys and daughter-in-law Blair will be with us for Thanksgiving.  We’ll be traveling to my hometown – Sylvester, Ga – to spend the holiday with my daddy’s side of the family – the Sumners.  We’re so excited!

See you Monday – God bless.

Responses

  1. My husband and I decided to repaint the kitchen just before Thanksgiving one year. We did the cabinets and everything so I had cupboard doors drying all over the house. One of the dogs escaped his temporary confinement and got white paint all over himself as well as a few areas that we had not intended to paint. My only saving grace was that we were not hosting dinner that year.
    Much luck getting the house put back together-remember it’s your family and they understand!!!!

  2. Brenda is there suppose to be another picture of your corner in the den? I have a blank spot there before the caption. Of course it could just be my computer, darn thing is falling apart.
    Annie is right..it is your family and they will understand. But it sure would be nice to have it all done before they got there. Maybe you could sneak in a load of clothes somehow and you’ll feel much better. 😉

    • Hilde, I wondered the same thing about another picture. At least I know I’ve not lost it completely this morning.

      Have a good weekend. Blake will be there and that’s a great thing.

    • Wow – I have no idea what happened to that pic! It was there last night. I have reposted, and it’s there now – hopefully to stay! Oh, BTW, I did a load of clothes at midnight last night – I feel sooooo much better now!

      • I see both of them now..the floor sure is shiny and I love your corner! And yeaaah on the laundry. 🙂

  3. Oh yes, I understand the desire for that patience thing -RIGHT NOW!!! And I suppose you do to.

    One day, it’ll all be done. Honestly, it will.
    Just remember, if it doesn’t cause the end of the world, it’ll be ok. And if it does, it won’t make any difference anyway.

    By the way, as you count your blessings and your problems and list them in separate columns, which column is the longest?

    I’ll get off my soapbox now!

    • Oh, Lowell – my list of problems doesn’t even show up when I contrast them to my blessings.

      • Love the green, and the wide blinds. What a great “sparkly” sun porch, especially on a cloudy day. It should really pick one’s spirits.

        Don’t give up on that job for Blake. They told my son-in-law 2 to 4 weeks! He called them twice before the end of the 4 weeks (my daughter insisted), and got the job. Good things take time don’t they? I’m still praying

        So happy you all will be together for the holiday. Family is a blessing. Soon your house will look just like you want it to.

  4. I LOVE the sun room floor, it is so shiny, and the green looks so inviting. Love, love, love it.

  5. Love the pictures and everything will be so pretty when you are done. Keep the faith! Love the green color and finished floors. Happy Thanksgiving to your entire family. Enjoy.

  6. Renovations look great Brenda! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family!

  7. Looks beautiful Bree!

  8. Two years ago, when we repainted/refloored…it was supposed to be done by Thanksgiving…it was not! These little set-backs are okay…we still have our loved ones, we still have a roof over our heads…and lots of stories (oh! they are the best). It IS aggravating…but this, too, will pass. Hand Blake a paint brush!

  9. YES, Bear will make a star Therapy Dog! Good to see you and Bear in Georgya. Will catch up later on photos and news. There is nothing I’ve seen in blogs that copares with yours, Bree.

    • Awww . . . thank you, Sue! So good to hear from you. Wishing you a joyful Thanksgiving, and hoping you and your family are all together for that day. B.

  10. Love the new look. who did the painting for ya’ll? need a good local painter. thanks, your fllintside drive neighbor


Leave a Reply

Categories

