Posted by: bree1972 | January 20, 2011

Things to Come 1/21/2011

The highlight of this week was, of course, working with Bear as Delta Society Pet Partners  on Wednesday.  No way I can top that, so I’ll just mention what’s coming up next week and let ya’ll get started on your weekend!

Sally and Ed, two of our friends here at the lake, rode into Albany with us today.  We had lunch, then toured the Flint Riverquarium.  Compared to the Georgia Aquarium in Atlanta that we visited just after Christmas, our local facility is much smaller – but it’s got a great big heart and is doing wonders to educate south Georgians about life, aquatic and otherwise, along the Flint River.  I’ll have photos for you next week.

Also coming next week – Sleep Apnea (Part II).  I finally got the results of my sleep test this week, and diagnosis was severe sleep apnea.  The test showed I stopped breathing 103 times during the night and changed sleep levels 198 times, adding “fragmented sleep” to the sleep apnea diagnosis.  I’ll be returning to the Sleep Center for another “over-nighter” on Tuesday, January 25, to be fitted with whatever horror mask will best bring my sleep back into normal levels.  If I don’t get help, I’ve been told the level of apnea I have can, over time, harm my heart – not to mention continue to raise my blood pressure and cause concentration and short-term memory problems (and here I thought I was just getting old).  So, back I go.  Hoping to have pics from “Round 2” for you next week.

Hoping you all have a wonderful weekend.  If you can – get outside and play some.  If you’re snowed or rained in, throw a quilt over your lap, heat up some hot chocolate (maybe add a little kahlua), grab a good book – and R E L A X!  God bless.

LAKE PHOTOS 

 

 

 

As the sun set over the lake Wednesday evening . . .

 

. . . this beautiful full moon began to rise.

 

God does some of his best artwork after dark.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad that they found out how severe the sleep apnea is. Not happy that it is as bad as you say, but glad that now they can do something about it. From what other people said here on the blog, I am thinking that now, that something can be done, you will eventually feel MUCH better. Which is a GOOD thing.
    We are at -4 this morning…too early for a glass of wine to keep warm so I’ll just stick to my coffee for now. Have a great weekend Brenda! 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you have received your results from the sleep test. Not happy to hear how serious it is. Now something can be done to help you. The pictures of the lake are beautiful. I love pictures of the moon over water. The weather here is cold and snowy. The temperature high is supposed to be 20 degrees. That’s not the problem, the winds will make it feel like -10 to -15. Our schools are closed as students walk to school in the district. Have a wonderful weekend.

  3. Very glad you’ve gotten a definitive diagnosis. You’ll feel soo much better when you start treatment and get a good night’s sleep.

    We’re supposed to be down in the low single digits here this weekend with windchills like Charlotte mentioned. I think I’ll take your advice about the hot chocolate, except I think I’ll add some peppermint schnapps to mine intead of Kahlua!

    • Yummy!

    • Hot chocolate with peppermint schnapps. You just gave me a flashback to college when my girlfriends and I would use that for medicinal purposes every month. Ha!

  4. Are you sure it’s winter down there? Looks more like a warm summer’s evening. 🙂

  5. I know it’s hard to think about dealing with a machine and a mask and all, but you will feel so much better.
    My husband can actually form a coherent sentence now, doesn’t tear up the sheets running from nightmares and he doesn’t walk into walls anymore. (He still falls asleep in front of the TV.) 😉
    You’ll have a choice of many different styles of masks–none as cute as a pair of fancy shoes– but after a while it will be very comforting to go to sleep with the mask on. He loves his machine. I just love my earplugs. 😀

    • Thanks for the encouraging words, Doris!

  6. If you’re able to use a nasal pillow C-Pap mask, they’re not too bad. I would also suggest that you try to get a machine that “flexes” so it will be easier for you to exhale. Good luck and be persistent once you get your equipment!

  7. I have several friends that use the machines and say while it takes some getting used to, it has made a big difference. I had a friend who had gastric bypass to improve her severe apnea. She lost a bunch of weight but the apnea is much worse. Go figure. I know weight isn’t your issue and you seem to live a healthy life style, do they say the problem is genetic or physiological?

    • Definitely physiological.


Leave a Reply

Categories

