Posted by: bree1972 | February 7, 2011

Bits and Pieces 2/8/2011

Hey!  And Happy Tuesday!

Since writing about our friendly little neighborhood hangout, Ted and I have traveled to Atlanta and back, attended a super Super Bowl party at the Bottom, and basically spent Monday in a semi-coma state on the sunporch.  There’s not really a “story” in this post, just some bits and pieces of what’s been happening in the last few days around the ri’vah – and points north. 

  •  Ok – I’m ready for the end of rainy, windy, cold, gray days.  I mean, geez!  We come back from Michigan in the winter so we can be outside enjoying warm, sunny winter days – being able to take the boat out on the lake for a couple of hours with temps in the low 70’s, riding our bikes in a t-shirt and light jacket, walking down our country roads wearing only one layer of clothing.  What happened to southern winters?! 

 

We've had way too many of THESE kinds of days . . .

 

. . . and not nearly enough of these. When I was sitting at my laptop one morning last week and glanced up, I was overjoyed to see the sun shining and the ri’vah water a beautiful blue. I immediately closed down the laptop and went outside to toss the ball for Bear. 

 

Our yard has become Cardinal Central this winter. Today I counted nearly 10 "couples" in our old crabapple tree, and they are going through over 20 lbs. of birdseed every week. We also have Wrens, Sparrows, Gold and House Finches, one boisterous Brown Thrasher, and a couple of Blue Jays.

  • We spent the weekend in Atlanta at Jason and Blair’s – saying our goodbyes to Blake before his big move to Colorado.  He is so excited about the cross-country trip and getting settled in.  He has been traveling with ELIC (English Language Institute China) for the last two weeks on recruiter trips with Tom, who is also a recruiter.  Blake will be living with Tom and Tom’s brother for a while, until he finds his own place.  Please offer up safe travel prayers for Blake.  He plans to leave on Wednesday and will be on the road for 2-3 days.  He is still driving my mom’s old Buick Century.  Oh my gosh, I hope it holds together.

Jim, Blair's dad, was also visiting in Atlanta this weekend, so they had a full house - Jason, Blair, and their two dogs and one cat; Jim and his dog; Ted and I and our two dogs; and Blake. Sure am glad everyone's pet-friendly in our family!

 

Blake and I - just before we left for home.

  • We went to the Bottom for a gigantic Super Bowl party on Sunday evening (the guys at our table looked at me like I was crazy when my first question was, “Who’s playing?”).  The cost of a ticket included a prime rib dinner with all the trimmings, a tradition at the Bottom since Mr. Charlie and Sue became the owners.  They grill all that beef outside, then bring it in to join the potatoes, salads, breads, and desserts laid out on the pool table.  It was a packed house, and the best prime rib I’ve ever eaten – seriously.  I came home at halftime, leaving Ted to ride home with Ed and Sally.  I’m such a football fan :)!
  • Today Ted and I both got up with a lazy day in mind.  It was raining . . again.  As I write this at 6:43 Monday evening, I am still in my flannel pj’s and not feeling the least bit guilty about it.  We have read, napped, eaten, and then repeated those three activities several times over the course of the day.  It was a great day!
  • The Sleep Center called last Friday and said they were ordering my BiPAP machine and mask, and I should be getting all that this week.  Yeah!! Maybe I will be able to actually read a whole page of a book without falling asleep in the near future.

That’s it from the ri’vah for today, but I wanted to add one more item.  If you are interested at all in dog stories, I think you will enjoy this one.  It’s a story from Need to Know on PBS entitled “The Dogs are Alright”.  It chronicles the dogs rescued from the Michael Vick compound and what has happened to them since that day.  It’s almost 15 minutes long, but it is excellent, heartwarming, and makes you even more aware that dogs are capable of amazing comebacks from horrible circumstances and can forgive humans anything (you’ll have to get through a 15-second commencial first, but it’s worth the wait.  http://www.pbs.org/wnet/need-to-know/video/video-the-dogs-are-alright-the-vick-dogs-make-a-comeback/6676/.

See you back here on Friday, and God bless.

Responses

  1. Wow-you’ve been busy!!! Sounds like you had quite a feast at your Super Bowl party. I’d love to try a prime rib on the grill but the fear of overcooking such an expensive hunk of meat scares me…. Hope Blake has a safe and uneventful trip to Colorado-I’ll be crossing my fingers for him as well as for some better weather for you! We’re snow covered and freezing here in Ypsi-supposed to go down to around 5 tonight but the days are getting longer so spring is on the way.

    • Spring! Such a beautiful word!

  2. Anytime you want to trade 2 feet of snow for some of that rain, just let me know! Right now I am so ready for Spring. It is -1 as I write this. I’m really looking forward to this coming weekend as it is suppose to get up to the middle 30’s. Doesn’t take much to make me happy..just warmer temps and sun. 🙂
    I’m as big of a football fan as you are Brenda so I can’t blame you for leaving at half time, but that meal sure sounds delicious..yum!
    Offering my prayers for a safe trip for Blake…I have a feeling he is really going to like his new job!
    Have a wonderful day!

    • Thanks, Hilde for your prayers. Wishing I could be up there enjoying all that snow with you (for just a little while). Then I’m sure I’d be tired of it too. Wishing for you some warmer temps and sunshine real soon!

  3. It is so much fun to watch your everyday life through your eyes. Your time in Atlanta looks like it was so much fun. I’m glad you had that time together. So glad Blake is going to get settled in after his long quest. He is ALWAYS in our prayers. He gets the same prayer as I have prayed for Charlie since I met him…to be safe in body, mind, and spirit. Succinct but doesn’t it say it all!

    • Sure does, Cathie! Thanks for your continued prayers – can’t wait to see you two on the island this summer!

      • Watching the snow and snowmobiles on the island has become an obsession for us. We are so excited about the trip and unveiling Charlie’s new “little red corvette” with it’s FLY NAVY stickers.

  4. Beautiful picture Bree! It sure looks pretty around your home. Best Wishes and prayers are sent for Blake. (and the car!) I just love how you and your family are such animal lovers!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

