Posted by: bree1972 | February 20, 2011

Georgia, Colorado, and . . . . India

UPDATE (2/22/2011):  For those of you trying to follow Blair’s blog while she is in India, she is having problems getting it to post.  She emailed this morning that she was in the airport at Bangalore, waiting on a flight to Mumbai.  She will try to post again there.  The address is www.blairstravelblog.wordpress.com.

GEORGIA

It’s been a “pretend it’s Spring” weekend here on the ri’vah.  After getting the boat all primed and ready for our trip over to the state park on Thursday, Ted took full advantage of the nice weather and was out on the water Friday and Saturday.  Instead of  driving to the Bottom, now he can go by water, and it won’t be long before boats will be the primary means of transportation to the little tavern.  Pontoons, fishing, and ski boats will be tied up to each other along the dock, and there will be lots of days when we’ll have to step through a couple of other folks’ boats to get to ours – but nobody ever minds.  It’s the ri’vah way.

“You think we’re done with cold weather?” I asked Ted on Saturday morning.  He said no.  He thinks we’ll have another cold spell before we can put away our coats for good.  I just hope it isn’t too cold, because everything is beginning to look like spring around here.

I think these are paperwhites, but I could be wrong. Whatever they are, we have batches of them blooming in our side-year flowerbed.

 

My friend Samille snapped this cardinal about to chow down on a brand new pack of suet.

 

A pink sunrise last Friday morning . . .

 

. . . followed by an orange full moon on Friday night, rising from the ri'vah through the trees. I posted this photo on FB Friday evening, and within 20 minutes had heard from friends in Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, North Carolina, and Florida saying the moon was the same shade of orange where they were. It only lasted about an hour, and then turned white as it rose higher into the atmosphere.

 

On Sunday afternoon we took the bikes out of the shed and tried out our winter legs. It was the first time I’d been on a bike since November, and I rode 10 miles, while Ted rode 12. As usual, I’ve let myself vegetate all winter, and now I will pay for it. Gotta start getting back in shape! In three months we’ll be going back north, where we’ll leave our cars behind and travel from point A to point B under our own steam.  
COLORADO

 Blake has been in Colorado a little over a week now, and he is settling into his new town and job.  ELIC employees work “four-tens”, going in to work from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Thursday, giving them a three-day weekend every week.  Wow – would I have ever loved that when I was working!  He got in a little exploring on Saturday and posted some photos from Horsetooth Reservoir which is a few miles outside of Ft. Collins.  The reservoir is at an elevation of 5,430 feet and is 1,900 acres of water surrounded by 2,000 acres of public land. 

Can't wait to see this in the spring when everything is greening up. Right now, as the snow has just melted, the landscape is the same brown we're seeing here in Georgia.

 

Wow! This is the wild west! Where's John Wayne?

 

The reservoir itself is at its winter "low". In the spring, summer and fall the water and land is used for fishing, boating, water skiiing, and camping.

 

Blake DID NOT take this photo – I borrowed it from a Ft. Collins web site.  It shows the relationship of the reservoir to the town of Ft. Collins, which sits at the top left corner of this pic.
INDIA

 A final note from India.  Blair landed in Bangalore Sunday afternoon around 2 p.m. after flying almost 13 hours (she had a two-hour stop in Paris).  We received an email from her a little after 6 p.m. saying, “It is 4:30 am in India, and we are 2 hours past the time we thought we would be getting in the bed.  I have to be up at 9:30. I will have more time to talk tomorrow and start getting some info on my blog!”  Hope she got some sleep on the plane!

Bear and I are working Monday and Wednesday, and I’ll see you back here on Friday.  Have a great week, and God bless. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Loved, loved the photo of the paperwhites!! I am so ready for spring! We had a tease of Spring last week..hit 55+ degrees here in lower Michigan…I noticed my daffodils are up about 3 inches and most of the huge piles of snow melted..well almost…then today it started snowing and now we are under a severe weather warning with rain/sleet/snow mix..so guess I’ll have to read about your spring until it gets to us!! Thanks for all the neat photos Brenda!! God Bless!

  2. I love your moon picture! We missed the full moon this time as we were hit with five days of clouds and rain. When I woke in the middle of the night last night, I was so surprised to see moonlight on the floor! But it had already started to wane.

    Enjoy those brief glimpses of spring. You’ll probably get our winter ‘storm’ in a few days!

  3. Can you give us a link to Blair’s blog? Sounds interesting!

  4. Those flowers are a sure sign of Spring! I wish I could say the same. I did see a couple of robins and I noticed that the chives in the pot on the patio were starting to get a little green, but alas we are still getting freezing rain and snow. I am so ready for Spring..I NEED SUN and WARMTH!
    Love the mountains in Blake’s pictures and that reservoir looks huge in that last picture!
    Big time difference between us and India I see. Sure hope Blair was able to get alittle rest. Well be checking her blog for updates.
    Stay warm…

  5. I didn’t see the moon in it’s orange look but did see it later in the evening. Also sawing it setting on Friday morning. It was beautiful with the sun beginning to rise in the east. Happy to hear Blair arrived safely and the Blake is exploring his new location. Have a good week.

  6. I enjoyed your blog this morning. You are right, those are Narcissi Paperwhites and they are beautiful. Ours have about 5 inches of snow and sleet on them right now, so I expect it will be 4-6 weeks before we see anything.

    The pictures Blake took of his surroundings brought back memories of trips “out west” when we lived in Texas and Oklahoma and then “back east” when we lived in Oregon. Nice pictures. Maybe we’ll make it again sometime.

    So glad Blair made it safely to India. I hope she can get rested before it’s time to return.

  7. Always love the pictures and the updates on everyone. Keep on boating.

  8. You have flowers!!!! we thought we were getting closer to spring until we got hit yesterday with a surprise snowstorm that left us with 8 inches of gosh darned snow… Your paper white photo is just what I needed!

  9. Beautiful spring flowers!! And what a pretty Cardinal bird. We just socked with 4 inches of more snow here in Indiana so looking at your pictures makes me think spring may wake up here soon :-). The pictures from where Blake is at are awesome! And I am so glad that Blair made it safely to India. Happy Tuesday to all of you!

  10. My Mama ALWAYS said there would be another “cold spell” before Easter. Easter is late this year, so I’d be willing to bet we’re going to see another cold snap in the next few weeks. If we don’t, I’m afraid we’re looking at another very, very hot summer. Anyway…………..we don’t have our boat back in the water yet…so y’all cruise by here sometime when you’re out.
    Pictures are Bee U tee ful. We’re gonna have to get bikes too…so we can get to Striplings without burning gas! Wow!

    • True that, Samille, on the gas. Everyone on the ri’vah could come spend the summer with us — very little gas bought up there!


Leave a Reply

Categories

