Posted by: bree1972 | May 8, 2011

Happy Girls! 5/9/2011

Audrey Hepburn said:  “I believe in manicures.  I believe in overdressing.  I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick.  I believe in pink.  I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot.  I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.”
 
I’ve always loved Audrey Hepburn, and I really like that part about happy girls being the prettiest girls.  As you can see from the pics below, we’ve got us a mess of happy women here at the ri’vah!

The Girls Night Out for May - that I thought I was going to miss - was rescheduled for an earlier night. We all gathered at twilight at Booger Bottom, which had been totally cleared of all men for the occasion, and I just have to tell you they were pretty grumpy about it. Have you ever seen anything much prettier than sundown on water.

 
 

Everyone's favorite Boogerette - Renae, whose mom and dad own the Bottom. We were celebrating Cinco de Mayo - well, really it was Quatro de Mayo - but who cares!

 
 
 

Look! The little bumps on these straws open into flowers!

 
 
 

Sue and Marianne, sharing a laugh. Geez, I'm going to miss all these ladies!

 
 

Tooters. I'd never heard of them, will not reveal what's in them, but can safely and confidently say . . .

 
 
 

. . . . we enjoyed them immensely!

 
 

Lights have been added to the tree in front of the Bottom. Pretty!

 
 

Serenity on the outside . . .

 
 
 

. . . and inside - well, let's just say what goes on inside at Booger Bottom STAYS inside at Booger Bottom.

 
 

This last photo is from the Kentucky Derby party at the Bottom on Saturday. Men were allowed at this one, but the girls had fun with the annual hat contest. That's Pat, Lisa (being attacked by that feather in Pat's hat), me (peeking out from under the brim of my black hat), Dawn, Renae, Sue, and Sally. Sally won, with Pat taking second. Animal Kingdom won the Derby.

 
I can’t believe our time at the ri’vah is almost over, but from the piles of clothes stacked on our guest room beds, I know “leaving day” is almost here.  Tune in Friday night – or Saturday morning –  for the last post from Georgia for a few months.  Hope you’re planning on following us up to Michigan for the summer!
 
P.S.  Happy Mother’s Day to all the readers out there who can claim this holiday as their own.  I bet each and every one of you also claim to have the best mom on the planet.  I know mine was!
 
Responses

  1. Looks like a fun time was had by all. You will be busy getting all those last minute things done before you head north. Here in northern IN it was a beautiful Mother’s Day. So spring may decide to stay this time. At least that’s what I’m hoping.

  2. Y’all better put off the departure for a couple of weeks, I mean REALLY? What difference is a couple of weeks going to make in the total scheme of things? We’ve got the Preakness Party coming up the 21st!

    • Samille – we told Ed and Sally we would be there in spirit. Of course, we can also get the Preakness in Michigan. If we threw a party up there, would ya’ll come???

      • Got to save my $$$ to go to NYC!

  3. What beautiful women and a beautiful tradition of sisterhood; keep on keeping on ladies. And those hats — as a Kentucky resident of 12 years, the Derby ladies have nothing over you.

  4. Bree – that camera! You are either graced to be in the two most beautiful parts of the world or you make magic of where you are; I think it’s a little of both.

  5. Bree-you go to the best parties ever! Those Tooters look mighty tasty… and mighty dangerous…

    The weather may have finally turned the corner up here-we had 2 beautiful weekend days in a row with no rain and it was warm enough for shorts. Wahoo!!!

    And, I believe in pink too!

  6. Those ri’vah gals are gonna miss you just as much as you’ll miss them. Ya’ll sure know how to have fun down there and I have to agree with Audrey, happy girls sure are the prettiest girls. Love the hats!
    You better believe I’m following you up North! Gosh, it won’t be long at all now! I think Spring has finally sprung. 😉

  7. The weather up here is getting nicer every day!! I hope you will have a sunny, warm welcome when you reach the island. I’ve been watching via the streaming video, and everything is starting to “move about”. Nice to see the horses, bikes and boats moving again.

  8. Brenda,

    What do you mean, “Follow you to Michingan.” I’m already here. How will it be if I just say, “Welcome and have a great summer.”

    Our middle son’s Mother’s Day card said, “Everyone says their mom is the best… But I’m the only one who’s right!” Did I know how to choose the mother of my boys – or what?

  9. Looks like a whole lot of fun was had by you and your lady friends!! What adorable hats too. I pray for a safe trip up North for you – and will wave a Hoosier Howdy out my window as you pass through our state on your way to Mackinac Island! Happy Tuesday to you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

