Posted by: bree1972 | November 3, 2011

We’re Home at the Lake! 11/04/2011

(Big sigh)  . . . bags are all unpacked.  Two shipped boxes have arrived and been emptied.  Hanging clothes are in closets, and folded clothes are in dresser (all of that needs pressing, but that’s not happening this week).  Ted and I have not stopped for a single second during the day (or so it seems) since we arrived home, but we’re now able to say, “We’re home!” and really smile about it.

Our trip from Michigan to Georgia was the smoothest we’ve ever had.  We left Mackinaw City at 8:32 Sunday morning (ice on boardway and ferry docks) and drove to Richmond, KY.  We were out of there by 8:10 the next morning and home around 5:30 on Monday afternoon.  Smooth sailing the whole way – even through Atlanta!

Although the fall colors had peaked, there were still a lot of burnt orange, golden yellow,
and rusty red leaves clinging to the trees in Kentucky.
And once we crossed over into Tennessee and the Great Smoky Mountains,
there were even more miles of late fall color to enjoy.
     When the skyline of Atlanta came into view, it meant we were only 3 1/2 hours from our front door . . .
                  . . . and we cruised through Atlanta without ever once slowing down – a minor miracl
I wanna talk!  I wanna talk! 

Hello – Bear here.

When mom and dad got all those storage things out of hiding and packed them for days and days, Maddie and I knew something was up.  We stayed pretty close that whole week – never letting them out of our sight.  We knew a trip was coming – we just didn’t know where.

Maddie slept in mom’s lap practically the whole trip, but I was dad’s co-pilot
(since mom slept the whole trip too, somebody had to be alert!)

As soon as we turned off that big path with all the cars and trucks and bunches of lanes, even Maddie woke up.  Suddenly the air just smelled different, and we finally knew where we were going . . . . HOME to the LAKE!

When dad turned on our street, Maddie and I just went crazy! Maddie was whining so loud mom fussed at her, and I was running back and forth from window to window in the back!  Just when we thought we couldn’t stand it another minute, we turned INTO OUR DRIVEWAY!

When mom opened the truck door and the fence door, I just fell to the ground and started rolling,
saturating my body in good ole Georgia grass smell . . . .

Lemme tell it!  Lemme tell it! 

Hey – Maddie here.

As soon as I hit the yard I thought to myself, “Dang it!  You go away a few months, and the moles just take over!”  So . . . .

. . . . I did what I had to do.  Mom and dad were so busy carrying in stuff they didn’t
even notice – well for a little while anyway.

I’m back now – sorry about that – sometimes you just have to let ’em talk.

As smooth as the trip was, we should have known there would be a few little problems when we got here.  Here’s the short list:

  1. My car battery was deader than the first mole Maddie caught.
  2. My laptop wouldn’t connect to the internet, although Ted’s notebook and our old iMac connected perfectly fine.
  3. I spent 4 hours (no exaggeration) on the phone with a tech person in Lord knows where while he talked me through a thousand and one “things to try” – none worked.
  4. Ted made an appointment for me to take my car to the Ford service center in Americus for a new battery on Wednesday morning and an appointment with our internet provider to send someone to our house Wednesday afternoon.
  5. Ted jumped off my battery and was following me to Americus when his cell phone rang.  It was our alarm company saying our house alarm was going off.
  6. Ted turned around and went back to the house – false alarm.
  7. Battery installed, groceries bought.
  8. Internet person arrived and figured out what was wrong . . . .  YEAH!!!
  9. Maddie ate too many moles and got sick all over the carpet . . . UGHI

There was already a Girls Night Out planned on Wednesday night at Booger Bottom, and I was determined to go.  The theme for the night was “Sell Your Gold”, and a jeweler we all knew was there to buy any old gold and silver jewelry anyone wanted to sell.

Sally – waiting for the dollar value of what she was selling.
Lake Ladies – so good to see them all again!

My turn again, mom!

Maddie and I hung around while mom and dad unpacked all their stuff – making sure things were coming OUT of those bags instead of going IN!
When I could finally relax, I assumed my favorite sleeping position at our Georgia house – on my back, neck turned so I only have to open one eye to see what’s happening, and one leg anchoring myself under the couch cushion (mom would have a fit if I did this to the couch in Michigan).
I’ve said hello to that big dog that never moves on the back porch – it’s too bad he doesn’t get to travel with us, but I don’t think he would fit anyway.  He’s not very friendly either – didn’t even say “welcome home”. 

My turn!

I’ve laid off the moles for a while – everything in moderation, you know. But since we’ve gotten home, I like to sit on the back porch and make sure everything is as it should be.  Mom and dad depend on me for that.
Bear and I have been waiting for the squirrels to come back, but mom says it will take a little while.  Dad put up the bird feeder yesterday, and as soon as the birds and squirrels smell all that seed, they’ll be all over the place again.  The great furry one and I LOVE to chase squirrels!

Ok – maybe I can finish now.

Is it good to be back?  Oh my goodness, yes.  I told someone last night at Girls Night Out that what we do is a different way to live.  We really have two lives, each of them wonderful, with marvelous friends in both places.  The magic of Mackinac Island will always call me back, but the joy and peace of returning to my roots is special in a totally different way.

Our homes aren’t big or fancy in any way. But they both fit us perfectly and offer us water and woods – the two things we love about nature the most.

Our first morning back Ted stood on our dock and took a photo of our house as the sun rose (the header photo is from that morning also).  The sun’s light was reflected in our windows, turning each of them golden, and when I saw his photograph, I thought “We have magic here also.”

It’s good to be home.

See you back here on Monday!

God bless.

Responses

  1. I cracked up when I saw Bear rolling in the grass, glad to be home. That picture said a thousand words! Being a Michigander, I do enjoy your blogs from Georgia. It’s a reminder in our cold, dark winter that there is sunshine and fun out there!

  2. Isn’t that the way with vacation homes? Love to get there, then love to go back home. How wonderful that you can appreciate both of them – because they sure are special, both of them!

    I bet Maddie won’t be the only one sitting on the porch, staring at the water! Welcome home!l

  3. Your dogs are hilarious, I love when they put their two sense in lol

  4. Hi Brenda and Ted,
    Glad you are back safe and sound. We have been doing the same thing only less travel time to our “other home”!!!! It poured rain all morning on Wed. the day we left. Then finally it quit long enough for us to get our once again entirely too full cart down to Sheplers. Honestly I have sworn off packing so many clothes that I don’t wear and so many groceries that I evidently don’t cook!! It rained the whole way to Traverse City and then finally we were on our street. Car unpacked, our take out dinner ready to eat in front of the tv! Then the coolers unpacked. That was it for Wed. Yesterday we unpacked and unpacked. We need to re-pack but ever so lightly as we are going to see my Mom in Ft. Lauderdale next week for 10 days. Then home again and we blink and it is Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday.
    Have a wonderful, safe and healthy winter and I sure look forward to seeing y’all next spring. (love to Bear and Maddie). xo

    • So good to hear from you, Loretta! If you’re driving to Florida, ya’ll are certainly welcome to stop-over here in Georgia. We’d love to have you! Also, Ted is asking who won the football game and how’d your grandson do. Love you!

  5. I love the look on Bear’s face in the shot of him looking at the bulldog! I’ll bet both dogs are so glad to have their fenced yard back and probably feel just like you do to be back in Georgia.
    Did you get rich at the Girls Night?

    • LOL, Annie – no, I didn’t even take anything to sell. One friend did really well though.

  6. Hi Brenda! So glad you had a safe trip back to Georgia. As usual, I love to read when the dogs do the writing. You are so good at it. Keep it up! Your pictures are precious of the dogs also – and Ted of course.

  7. Happy you had safe trip home and that your back at the lake.
    Bear, please tell Maddie she really needs to lay off the moles.

  8. Brenda,

    I’ve been awful busy lately and haven’t been able to check out your blog and comment. I wonder who it was who thought of the term, retirement? It sure isn’t the word I would use to describe that time in life.

    Well, I’ll just have to tell you, you sure have knowlegable and talented dogs. My congratulations to you, Maddie and Bear. When you write, it always makes me smile and have a better outlook on life. So, I must say thank you, “Thank You.”

    Brenda & Ted, I’m glad you’re home and getting back in the groove with your friends and your life in Georgia.

    Enjoy the warm weather while it lasts. I had a difficult time scraping the frost off the car windows this morning. That stuff was really on there hard. By the way, the winter forecast for Michigan is very little snow for November and December, but big storms and record amounts of snow in January and February.

    See you next time. And Maddie, don’t be eating so many moles. You need to leave some for another day, you know.

  9. Welcome home! You have a wonderful life in both places, it’s just perfect!


Leave a Reply

Categories

