Posted by: bree1972 | December 8, 2011

Deck the Halls . . . 12/9/2011

I love ChristmasI  But if anyone who reads this blog is as far behind as I am in preparing for the holiday, you know how panicky I’m beginning to feel right about now.  Good grief!  We don’t even have our tree up!

Well, that’s a little false.  We do have a tree up, but it’s so tiny it sits on the roll-top desk in the kitchen. It’s a cute little tree though, and it makes me smile to watch it blinking merrily out into the dark of our front yard each evening.  There are two other – bigger – trees still in the attic, and we usually go cut down a really large tree for the den. But the way things are looking, that large tree may get to grow for another year out at the Christmas Tree farm, and whether those other trees in the attic are coming down this year is a little sketchy right now also.

My Christmas spirit finally popped up from wherever it had been hiding when I watched Michael Buble’s Christmas Special a couple of nights ago.  What a treat!  He sang all the beautiful old Christmas songs – like they are supposed to be sung (when you get my age, you just don’t want to hear the “Silent Night Rap”).  He ended the show with “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”, and yes – tears were running down my cheeks by the end of it.  Note to self: RUSH out and buy the new Buble Christmas CD.

I love addressing cards sitting out on the porch, watching the birds and squirrels and water. It was rainy yesterday and even turned a little cold, so it was a great day to have a good, steady job to do that required no real stress beyond making sure the addresses were correct on each envelope.

I’m in the middle of getting my Christmas cards addressed and mailed – I did half of them yesterday and put them in the mailbox this morning with the flag up.  I’ll finish the rest before bedtime tonight.

As I was working on the cards yesterday, I noticed there was a squirrel sitting on top of the “squirrel-proof” bird feeder – the one that’s battery-operated and usually flings a squirrel off as soon as its little rodent feet touch the surface of the baffle top.  Well, the battery was most certainly dead yesterday, because the squirrels were all over the feeder.   If you look closely at the photo to the left, you can see one sitting right on top.  He called all his buddies too, and by late afternoon there was a posse of the furry critters hanging out and chowing down.

I’ve only gotten a little of my Christmas shopping done – but I haven’t been hitting the malls.  Nope – 99% of my shopping is done on-line from the dozens of catalogs that begin arriving in the mailbox just after Halloween.

Something has to be going right in the economy if all these retailers can send out gorgeous, glossy, full-color catalogs each year. And some send more than one per season. I've counted five Sundance catalogs since the first of November - FIVE! And the only thing that changes is the cover - and maybe the blonde model in this week's issue is wearing the red sweater that the brunette model was wearing in the issue from last week. It looked better on the brunette model though - so I bought it for "someone on my Christmas list".

Until Wednesday, the weather was perfect – high’s in the 70’s, low’s in the 60’s – and the nice weather meant we were able to get one home repair project completed.

All the wood at the bottom of our windows was in pretty bad shape, and we knew when we left last spring this would be our first Fall project when we returned. So this week workers came and tore off the old wood . . . .

. . . and made everything look new again - on 16 windows. And that, ladies and gentlemen, is what Ted and I are giving each other for Christmas! He wanted to give me diamonds, but I said, "No, no! I want new window wood!"

The good weather also made it perfect for fishing . . .

These guys were enjoying the sun and catching a few fish too - right off our seawall.

. . . and for Ted to practice his chipping in the backyard – with Bear’s help.

"Ok, Dad. Keep you eye on the ball. Wait - there's two balls. Is that to make sure you'll hit at least one? Ok, ok. Ready . . . ."

". . . Looking good. Set . . ."

"Yeahhhhhh, Dad! Two with one swing! I'll go get 'em for you. You rest."

Late Wednesday a cold front blew in, and this morning was in the 30’s.  But hey – it’s south Georgia.  One day we wear sweaters, the next we wear shorts. Love it!

Have a great weekend wherever you are, and let’s meet back here on Monday!  God bless.

Everyone loved the doxies all dressed up for Santa last week. So, for my readers who love kitties - this one's for you.

Responses

  1. What a pleasant way to start my day; like a visit with a close friend, though we’ve never met. Thanks for popping in! Have a great weekend. Here in the north I believe winter has finally put her foot firmly in the door and won’t be leaving this time. Snow has arrived, and unlike the past several snowfalls that arrived and quickly melted, I believe this time it’s here for a while.

    Take care. Stay warm!

    • Now THAT sounds like Christmas weather, Deb!

  2. I am not ready for Christmas yet either. Yes I have my tree up but that’s about it. It has 3 sets of lights that I have to rearrange because after putting up the fourth set of lights and turning them all on, one set was completely out. (and I checked them all by plugging them in before putting them on the tree and they were all working?…how does that happen). Anyway, that’s as far as I have come and so for the whole week the tree has sat there with its 3 strings of lights. Have to get myself in gear and get it decorated this weekend because my baby girl is coming home for winter break from school on Monday. Still haven’t started any shopping though…sigh!. Oh and we finally got a dusting of snow last night. It’s beginning to look alot like Christmas…. 🙂

  3. I think that poor little cat is going to need therapy for the rest of its life!!

    • I know, Mary! I was thinking they probably had to sedate it just to get it in that outfit. But . . . . maybe it’s just a calm cat.

  4. I was wondering how many scratches the cat dresser had! I’ve heard about laid-back cats (like this one), but I’ve never known one!
    Don’t feel bad about being slow this year – we don’t have a tree up, either. And I haven’t started the cards! My Christmas song of choice right now is, ‘Don’t Worry, Be Happy!’ House will be full next weekend, and somehow with Mama-magic, all will be well. I hope.

    • Mama-Magic! Love it!

  5. I loved the Michael Buble special too-right up until my cable provider decided to do a software update….But I saw enough of it to get all misty-my dad was a former big band singer and I grew up with that style of music. Love, love, love to hear it sung so well. I’m not quite at the panic stage but may get there early next week. I’m not finding the beef tenderloin I need for Xmas dinner at my usual store so far and I’m hoping they get it in next week. But if that’s the biggest worry I have, I’m pretty blessed, I guess…

    • That’s funny about the update, Annie – it was election night also, and our local station kept interrupting for return results. Geez!

  6. Sorry Girls, but I didn’t care for the Buble concert. Turned off the TV. That doesn’t mean I’m a bad person.

    All of our big snow has melted, but we did get about an inch last night. Whether it will stay around and get added too by Christmas, I don’t know. We’ll just have to wait and see. Brenda, speaking of Christmas weather, as you did, I remember when I was a boy living in Austin, Texas, going with my brother one warm Christmas morning, climbing trees and collecting mistletoe. Now, that was my kind of Christmas weather.

    I thought that cat probably wasn’t real.

    I guess I’m just being a curmudgeon today. I really do apologize for that.

    To me the best part of Christmas (and any holiday, for that matter) is being able to get together with family and friends. I really look forward to that and it makes for such wonderful memories. Of course, the food is always nice too.

    By the way, I plan to make a peanut butter-chocolate candy, similar to Reeses, and attempt to make some pecan pralines, but that will have to wait until closer to Christmas Day.

    • Wow, Lowell, I’m surprised you didn’t like the Buble music. Now, I have to admit, the first 10 minutes were a little YUK – if fact I didn’t like ANY of the attempts at humor, especially that first skit (maybe that’s where you turned it off – I almost did myself). An actor he is NOT. But, the music was really good. But hey – if we all didn’t like different things, it would really be a boring world, wouldn’t it! Ok, my Bah, Humbug friend. You’ve had your bad day. I want you back to cheerful Lowell again by tomorrow ! Fa-la-la-la-la . . . la-la-la-la! P.S. Peanut butter and chocolate together is my FAVORITE candy!

  7. I left home (Iowa) today with 2 inches of snow on the ground as I drove to the airport and flew to Atlanta where it is 55 degrees. It is nice not to have jacket but it is beautiful to see the fresh, white snow. Before I left for the airport, my dog (Bear) went outside and decided to make yellow snow! Have a great weekend!

  8. I’ve put up one wreath and dragged half the Christmas tree up from the basement. That’s it. Thought about putting some lights up outside, decided to take a nap instead.

  9. I am not “home” for Christmas yet but will be soon. When we left Florida last spring I made sure the tree lights were working and have it ready to set out in our livingroom this week. This year we will have 3 little Nelsons to look at all the family homemade tree orniments. You inspired me and I actually got 6, yes 6 not 60, Christmas cards addressed while we were driving south. Oh well, I am very,very bad at written comunication and every year I finde the cards / pictures that did not get in the US mail. We all need to support the US mail and its carriers this year so I think they will get sent out. God Bless you as you prepare for Blake to come home this Christmas the rest can wait,my friend. Merry Christmas!

  10. I love Christmas time and decorating! Dave put up the outside lights last week and we only have a dusting of snow but the lights look so pretty under the snow. The last picture of the cat is priceless 🙂 Happy Tuesday!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

