Posted by: bree1972 | January 8, 2012

This Year I Resolve . . . . 1/9/2012

New Year’s Resolutions.  We all make them.  We all try to keep them . . . . and most of us fail miserably.  I know I do.

I bet you know the answer to this question:  What is the number one resolution most Americans make on January 1?   All together now . . . . “This year I will lose weight.”

I wish I could be less vain and tell you on January 1, 2012 I resolved to be a better mother and wife and friend . . . but I can’t.  Nope, this year – just like every other year since I had that second bouncing baby boy (Blake), who weighed a healthy 8 lbs. 8 oz. after I gained 50 lbs carrying him – number one on my New Year’s resolution list was once again “lose weight”. 

After eating ham, black-eyed peas, potato salad, cornbread and a couple of glasses of sweet iced tea for our New Year’s Day dinner – and awakening on January 2 two lbs. heavier – I had an epiphany.  Maybe if I stopped trying to “lose weight” and instead tried to “get healthier”, things would work out better.  Hmmm.

Santa Claus brought me a series of Walk-at-Home CDs.  They were on my “All I Want For Christmas” list, under “Things that Start with C” (a convertible, a cruise, and a couch were the other items under that letter, but I guess Santa would have a lot of trouble getting any of those in his sleigh – although a printed coupon confirming a cruise would have been fairly easy).  Lana, my good friend in Atlanta, told me about the tapes a couple of months ago and said I could try out one of them online for free.  I did that for a couple of weeks and really enjoyed it.  Then Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s rolled around, and my 15 minutes-a-day walking got exchanged for three-hours-a-day eating.  Something had to change.

On January 2, I slid the 2-mile walk CD (there are 4 CD’s in the set – Miniwalks, 2-Mile, 3-mile, and 4-mile) into the player under the TV and got started.  Along with the tapes came a pair of elastic bands.  One end has “stirrups” into which you slide your feet.  The other end has handles.  You can add resistance training to the walking by simply stepping into the stirrups, holding onto the handles and following the exercises as the lovely, 110-lb. perfectly-proportioned lady – who is making mega-bucks selling these tapes – instructs.

Now – sarcasm aside – something really nice is happening.  I began the program on this past Monday with the 2-mile CD, which is a medium-paced walk with four basic steps at a 3-4 mile per hour pace.  It’s over in 15 minutes.  The second mile uses the resistance bands.  At the end of 30 minutes you follow along as Ms. Perfect Lady teaches you how to cool down – then stretch.  So in a mere 30 minutes I’ve walked two miles AND done a little muscle toning.  Every other day I play the 3-mile CD – skipping the resistance bands on mile 2 and just following along with the exercises without the bands.  Less than forty-five minutes later, I’ve clocked 3 miles – two at 3-4 miles per hour and one at 5 miles per hour – which is as fast as it gets.  The great thing is I really don’t think about the pace – I’m concentrating on keeping time with the music, doing the exercises, and making sure I stay precisely under the ceiling fan!

After doing nothing more strenuous than opening the refrigerator door, I was finding myself exhausted at the end of the day.  Now, I’m doing all this walking, and I’m suddenly filled with energy . . . . . all day long!  My brain is thinking more clearly, my balance is improving, and  . . . . . I’ve lost 4 lbs.  Granted, I’ve increased my water intake, and I’m eating a lean breakfast and lunch and only one helping of whatever we have for dinner.  But I am psyched!

So – instead of “losing weight” as a priority, I’m getting healthier.  Maybe – in the process – I can also become a better mother and wife and friend.  I can only hope.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

If you’d like to get healthier along with me, you can try out the Walking tapes here: http://www.walkathome.com/.  Just click on the “Try it before you buy it” link, and you can do a one-mile 15 minute walk online.  I promise you will feel so much better!  And watch out – you might get hooked!

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

See you back here on Friday with some book updates and whatever else comes up before then.  We’ve got a busy week planned before leaving Saturday for Colorado.  Bear and I are working two days, and I’ve got an appointment in Albany on Tuesday.  That will be three trips to Albany this week.  I think I’m going to have to skip Girls Night Out at Booger Bottom this week.  I have to pack sometime!  See you Friday!

Responses

  1. Way to go!!! I also do WATP every day along with 5 miles of biking and at least 1 mile on the treadmill partly running. Have lost 16 lbs since mid Oct.-not setting the world on fire, like you said, just getting healthier. I have also seen an increase in my energy level. Here’s to a healthier 2012.

    • Wow, Gail – what a program! Congratulations!

  2. WTG Brenda! No, I don’t think your overweight but we can all choose to be a little healthier. I don’t always do it, but I try to eat as healthy as I can, and get in some sort of exercise. My biggest culprit is that I never drink enough water. I keep telling myself to drink more, but it seems to fall on deaf ears. Especially in the winter. Come summer I will definitely drink more. Anyway, I think it’s great what your doing. You too Gail! Keep it up!

  3. Brenda,

    You’re doing great. I accidently found that site awhile back, but so far I’ve not been able to get through the first one. Oh well, I’ll keep trying and maybe I’ll work up to it. A better heart would help, but you know what? Santa didn’t bring me one! Of course, age doesn’t help either.

    You & Bear have fun this week. I hope he will get in the car a little better. And have a safe trip to Colorado.

  4. Woo Hoo-Go Brenda!! My husband and I lost 150lbs together a couple years ago by doing just what you are-we stopped dieting, started eating better and moving more. We’re both in better shape now than we were in High School! I’ve done the Leslie Sansone walking tapes myself-they’re great. Just think of how easy those hills will be when you go back to Mackinac!

  5. Diet sounds so negative and getting healthier sounds so positive. Maybe that’s why the getting healthier goal seems to work better for most of us. That and getting organized were my top two. You are already the most organized person I know so you don’t need that. How is Dudley coming? Miss and love you all.

    • Dudley and I are doing pretty good – I try to put up with him 4-5 nights a week, then take off a couple of nights. (I guess I better say that Dudley is a pet name for my sleep apnea mask – in case someone is reading this and doesn’t know that story).

  6. You go, girl!! Happy to hear you and Dudley are on friendly terms again. (I was going to say bed buddies….but didn’t think that sounded right!!!) I’m doing the “get healthy” thing too. Just think – we can continue it together up on the island….I’m sure we can burn some calories together mucking Teddie’s stall and throwing hay bales around!!

    • All right, Mary! Please promise to take a pic of me mucking a stall and throwing hay bales – THAT would be quite the photo! Can’t wait to compare notes on how healthy we are!

  7. You all sound so inspiring! And I’ll have to go check out those CDs!

    On another note, I received a Vera Bradley catalog in the mail today, and guess where it was shot…Mackinac Island!! I didn’t catch on until about 8 pages in, I spot the Grand, and then I went back to page 1 where they describe where they are. If you don’t get it, email me your address and I’ll send it to you. I’m sure you’ll recognize all the sights!

    And when I get some weight on my horse, you need to come to Thomasville and ride with me!!

    • We were THERE when that shoot was going on, and our friend who lives in GA in the winter and has a house on the island is IN the catalog. She sent me a copy of “her” photo a little while ago. She has really pretty white hair and is walking with two models who are carrying Vera Bradley items. She was very excited to be included (I think they used her house for a few of their photos). LOL about riding your horse. Better let me think about that!

  8. I’ve used Leslie’s tapes and now DVD’s for years. Really enjoy them. I just started her challenge on Facebook this week myself!

    • Haven’t seen that, Ann. I’ll have to check it out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

