Posted by: bree1972 | February 12, 2012

Love . . . Sometimes Silly, Sometimes Sacred 2/13/2012

Silliness.  Tuesday is St. Valentine’s DayA large group of Boogerettes and our husbands/significant others (let’s go ahead and call them “Boogers”) are going out to dinner Tuesday evening at a favorite lake restaurant, Daphne’s.  It’s kind of an annual outing for all of us, and promises to be a fun- and food-filled evening (the best kind).  The ladies will try to wear something red (always a problem for me because I don’t own anything red – not even a scarf since I lost mine somewhere between our visit to Julie and Matt’s in Ormond Beach and home).  The guys will dress up – which means they’ll trade jeans or shorts in on a pair of khakis and swap out University of Georgia t-shirts for something a little less casual.  Heck, they might even slap on a little after-shave (Note to self: buy Ted some Aramis – my personal favorite and always guaranteed to get me in a happy mood). We’ll all laugh through dinner, tell silly stories, and leave the restaurant pleasantly full and happy that Cupid gave us a great reason to get together.

SacredThis afternoon Ted and I rode about a mile down our street to visit a lady who lost her husband last Sunday.  He was 77.  We were casual friends with this couple.  We live on the same street, and sometimes we’d go to the same church. We actually saw the husband a lot more than his wife because nearly every day he passed our place, walking their dog.  His illness took him fast – not quite three months after his diagnosis – and we sat and listened this afternoon as she told us about his final few days.   She said, when he’d seem to be uncomfortable, she’d talk to him about a much enjoyed trip they took a couple of years ago.  They had planned that trip for a long time, been gone two weeks, and made some wonderful memories.   “It seemed to calm him,” she said.  As we left, she hugged us both and said, “Keep doing what you love – visiting that island you love so much and coming back to the home you love here.  In years to come, those memories will mean more than you know.”

When I’m in the presence of couples who have gone the distance together, loved and honored through thick and thin, sickness and health, I almost feel as though I’ve been in a holy place.  The wisdom they impart is worth listening to – always.

Ted and I held hands riding home.  We’ve been married only 23 years, even though we’re in our 60’s.  But one thing I know we’ve made together are wonderful memories – of joined families, trips taken, homes enjoyed, and friends made and loved in two places almost 1200 miles apart.  Being married to my best friend makes everything we do together more loving, more fun . . . more special.  I pray we have many, many more years together to be silly, love each other, hold hands and make memories.

Happy Valentine’s Day, Ted. I love you.


Responses

  1. Ted needs to smile more. A very touching tribute and may you have 23 more years together. Happy Valentine’s day and thanks for letting us share some of those great times with you.

    • I KNOW, Cathie! Get out a camera, and he frowns. Silly man.

  2. Happy Valentine’s Day to both of you. Enjoy yourselves.

  3. Happy Valentines Day to you both. Love your story and your pictures. God bless you. 🙂

  4. Happy Valentine’s Day to a very SWEET couple. Love ya!

  5. You always seen to write with a smile. I love reading of your families adventures. For the ones of us that don’t have that kind of life, we live thru your eyes. THANKS!

    • Gina, Your comment this morning touched my heart. Our family is certainly not perfect, and there have been many – many – times in the past that I could never have imagined that this life we have now is how things would turn out. None of us knows what the future holds, but all the bad times we survive do help make us stronger. God is most certainly the answer to every question. My faith in Him has grown over the years, and now I know who to turn to FIRST with every problem. Thank you for writing. God bless.

  6. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and Ted. May you have at least 23 more happy years together. Having just celebrated our 48th anniversary last week I hope for 48 more.

  7. Brenda,

    What a beautiful Valentine’s blog.

    As far as Ted not smiling is concerned, when I take pictures of people, I usually tell them to pretend they’re happy. That almost always brings a smile.

    I think you would be happy about our weather right now. We’ve had a few inches of snow on the ground since last Friday and the temperatures are colder. I believe it was in the single digits Saturday or Sunday morning, but only got down to 19 degrees this morning. 25 degrees now and not expected to go a whole lot higher today.

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    • No snow here, Lowell, but temps yesterday and this morning started out in the low 20’s. We even had a fire Sunday morning in our little stove on the porch. I’m off to jury duty – my first time ever.

  8. Bree,
    What a beautiful tribute to not only your marriage, but your neighbor’s as well. It reminds us to be grateful, and that love is a choice.

    Make sure you pick up the February edition of Southern Living. It has a few pages devoted to downtown Thomasville, and mentions *my* favorite indie bookstore, The Bookshelf. Hopefully it will encourage you to visit and join me for lunch one day! (It will be in the Georgia Living section, p. 4).

    Blessings to you and Ted, and Happy Valentine’s Day. Thanks for sharing your heart.

    Mary Jane

  9. What a sweet post… 🙂

    Also love the picture of your husband and the dog getting all cozy! SO cute!!

  10. Happy Valentines Day and here’s to making memories!

  11. Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

  12. Happy Valentine’s Day to you, Ted, Bear and Maddie! I love the photos. For what it’s worth, I think Ted has a very sweet and whimsical smile in the first three pictures. 🙂

  13. What a great story. You and Ted remind me of myself and my husband. It’s great to be married to your best friend isn’t it! Happy V-Day!

  14. sweet…………we had fun tonight didn’t we?

    • Soooooo much fun, Samille!

  15. I’m a little late-hope you had a lovely dinner and thanks for the story. It’s easy to take people you love for granted and I appreciate being reminded that every day is special and should be treated as such.

  16. You two are blessed and you keep on blessing others. I cry so many times when I read what you write because you speak to my heart. Thanks and happy valentines day!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

