Posted by: bree1972 | December 11, 2012

Spreading the Love . . . by Bear 12/11/2012

Howdy.  Bear here!

It’s been a long time since Mom asked me to write, and I was glad to help her out.  We worked as Pet Partners on Monday for the first time since we got back down south.  We were supposed to only work two hours, but there were just so many people in the hospital, and it was like EVERY ONE of them wanted a visit from all the Pet Partner teams!  Well, I mean, can you blame them?

Anyway, we worked almost three hours, and let me just tell ya’ll . . . . Mom and I both were dog-gone tired when we got back home – and that’s why yours truly is getting to write tonight (Mom is taking a little nap).

You know me, I can’t sleep in the car (although I have totally overcome my fear of getting in the car – Mom is very happy about that!).  I have to ride shotgun for Mom though to make sure she stays awake!

Hey Mom!  Look at those bales of cotton!  Hey Mom!  Look at that house!  Hey Mom, look at that  . . .

Hey Mom! Look at those bales of cotton! Hey Mom! Look at that house! Hey Mom, look at that . . .

. . . look at that tractor thingy sweeping up all the dead leaves and leftover pecans!

. . . tractor thingy sweeping up all the dead leaves and leftover pecans!

Now, before you start writing Mom and telling her how dangerous it is for me to be in the front seat, let me just share with you that she knows that.  But . . . choosing between a salivating, hassling, totally stressed out dog pacing back and forth in the back seat whining for the entire 45-minute trip to Albany and back, and me being my usual happy sweet self, sitting calmly next to Mom (my favorite place to be) . . . well, Mom has chosen the latter.  She is super careful when I’m riding with her (and probably even that helps her stay awake).  Anyway, it works for us right now.

When we got to Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital, we were so happy to see a bunch of teams waiting to work!  I don’t think I’ve told you that one of my bestest friends at Pet Partners, Happy Jack, passed away while we were in Michigan.  His owner, Ms. Marty, is still so, so sad, but she now has Poppy and Zeus – two more yellow labs – and Poppy was with her yesterday.  I also got to meet Maxine and Truman!

This is Truman, a Golden Doodle who obviously got his coloring from his black poodle parent!  He owns Ms. Amy.

This is Truman, a Golden Doodle who obviously got his coloring from his black poodle parent! He owns Ms. Amy.

And this is Maxine, a Yorkshire Terrier who owns Ms. Cheryl.

And this is Maxine, a Yorkshire Terrier who owns Ms. Cheryl.  Do you think she could be any more focused on that treat bag?

Sweet and handsome Poppy - Ms. Marty's partner.

Sweet and handsome Poppy – Ms. Marty’s new partner, who came from the same breeder as Happy Jack.

There were five teams working yesterday, and as usual we started the day in the Oncology waiting room where we visited with maybe 15 people in the 30 minutes we were there.  Mom was happy to see that I got right back into my “velcro dog” role with everyone I met, spending the afternoon velcroing my head to laps, legs and beds.  We wish we could take photos in the hospital, but that’s not allowed.

From Oncology, we went to one of the medical floors and visited up and down a whole wing.  There were so many people in the hospital, and we tried our best to spread the love everywhere.  Sometimes I think we help bring smiles to families visiting patients as much as to the patients!  It’s really hard when we have to leave a room and move on.

A few of us spent part of the afternoon visiting in the Behavioral Health wing where we meet with patients in a big room. They sit around this huge table (sometimes they’ve been having snacks in there just before we arrive, and it is really hard not to dive under the table to grab something that was dropped), and we move from patient to patient.

In all we probably visited close to 60 people.  I’m not including in that number all the folks we only connected with for a few seconds as we passed through other waiting rooms and elevators (which I also used to not like, but now they are fun) and the lobby, where our entourage makes quite a “happening” parading through as a group!

Outside we rested a little while, had treats (because we are wonderful), and mom took a few photos.

When the treat bags come out, we forget about being tired!

When the treat bags come out, we forget about being tired!

Here are all the teams that worked on Monday.  From left to right: Ms. Barbara and her King Charles Cavalier Spaniel Charlie (Charlie is a girl), Ms. Linda and Buddy (a Poodle/Terrier mix) - Ms. Linda is holding on to my leash too, Ms. Cheryl and Maxine, Ms. Amy and Truman, and Ms. Marty and Poppy.

Here are all the teams that worked on Monday. From left to right: Ms. Barbara and her King Charles Cavalier Spaniel Charlye; Ms. Linda and Buddy (a Poodle/Terrier mix) – Ms. Linda is holding on to my leash too; Ms. Cheryl and Maxine; Ms. Amy and Truman and Ms. Marty and Poppy. (I think Truman is still looking for those treats!)

If you’d like to see photos of all our Pet Partners teams, you can click here:  http://www.pawspatrol.com/teams.htm.  We don’t have an updated photo of Ms. Marty and Poppy yet, and as you can see on this site, Happy Jack was partnered with several handlers.  Happy Jack was an amazing friend, and we all miss his smiling face and joy for life.  He’s playing at the Rainbow Bridge with Ms. Marty’s other special boy, Hero, who she lost several years ago.

You will also notice the “In Memory Of” caption over the photograph of Pat Howard and and her faithful Charlie .  Ms. Pat passed away a couple of years ago, and Charlie went to live with Ms. Marty.  This fall Charlie and Pat were reunited and crossed the Rainbow Bridge . . . together.  Losing Happy Jack and Charlie so close together was a huge shock to our group, but the memories of Pat, Happy Jack, Hero and Charlie go with us on every visit, and people ask about them wherever we go. 

Our ride home was uneventful . . .

Hey Mom!  Look at that Santa Claus in that yard!  Is Santa coming soon?  Did you tell him I wanted a new bed?

Hey Mom! Look at that Santa Claus in that yard! Is Santa coming soon? Did you tell him I need a new bed?

Hey Mom!  Look at that piece of farm equipment!

Hey Mom! Look at that piece of farm equipment!

Hey Mom!  Look at that calf!

Hey Mom! Look at that calf!

So, we made it safely home, and Mom is waking up just in time to publish this story I’ve written!  She says to tell ya’ll she and Dad are heading to Florida for Christmas with Julie, Matt, Jordan and Matthew this weekend . . . What?  You haven’t told me that, Mom.  Are Maddie and I going?  What?  We’re going to the kennel again!  Just wait till I tell Maddie THIS news!  Santa Clause had better be extra nice to us this Christmas!

Waiting for Santa  . . .

Waiting for Santa . . .

Responses

  1. I love you Bear!

    • I love you right back, Ms. Chris Ann!

  2. Bear, it is always sooo good to hear from YOU! : )

  3. Friggin adorable! I might steal this idea and have my dogs day be documented from his point of view.. although that’s be 14 or so hours of napping…so…maybe not.

  4. Oh Bear – you are such a gifted creature – pretty to look at, good at your job, a comfort to folks – and an exceptional author too! Fret not – Santa will find you at the kennel (right Brenda???). Merry Christmas to you, Maddie, and of course, you mommie and daddie too. Blessings to you.

    • Oh, Ms. Debbie – we won’t be at the kennel ON Christmas . . . we go there on Friday of THIS week. Mom and Dad will be back on Sunday. I don’t think they would EVER leave us alone on Christmas . . . . well, unless it was an emergency or something.

      • Phew – that must be a relief………..in that case, make sure you’re extra good at the kennel! The big guy in red is watching you know………..

  5. Nice to hear from you Bear.

    Sorry to hear about Happy Jack. My dog, Millie went to the Rainbow Bridge the day after Thanksgiving this year and it is so hard for me and my Mom during the Holidays. We were happy that our family were all together on Thanksgiving that they could all say good-bye her one last time.

    Santa should be extra good to you and Maddie, the two of you are extra special doggies.

    • Ms. Judy, Maddie and I are so sorry to hear about Millie. Mom told us about the Rainbow Bridge once, and it sure sounds like a happy place to wait until those you left behind can walk with over the Bridge into Heaven. I don’t know if that’s exactly how it works, but I sure love that idea . . so maybe it is!

  6. Thank you for your condolences Bear. Please tell Maddie that I Thank you as well. I believe that it is also a happy place and I cannot wait to see Millie and all of the other dogs and cats who have passed before them. I know that St. Francis is taking good care of them.

  7. It sure was good to hear from you Bear!! I see you picked up right where you left off with your visits…I knew you would get right back into the swing of things. I bet everyone was glad to see you too! That’s a good idea, keeping mom company up front, just remember to hold on tight going around corners. I know Santa will be extra nice to you and Maddie. 🙂 Please say hi to Maddie for me.

  8. Hey Bear, before you know it, you will be driving the car for your Mom . . .just like the dogs do in New Zealand.

  9. God bless the Delta dogs and their owners. I love you, Bear!

  10. Bear, don’t look so sad…..Santa will be here soon!

  11. Hi Bear,

    You look so content to be back in the swing of Blackshear business! Give Maddie a nuzzle for us. Don’t forget to leave a cookie for Santa! I’m so proud of you for making time for people in every circumstance..Brenda thank you..it means so much. God Bless you both! How are Ted & Maddie doing?

    Hope your Christmas happenings are coming together with ease. How are you feeling?

    Chris Ann, so glad to see you have popped in…our prayers continue for you and your family at this blessed time. Our wishes are for your comfort and as much joy as the beautiful pictures Brenda has shared with us!

    Live ~ Love ~ Laugh
    Theresa


Leave a Reply

Categories

