Posted by: bree1972 | February 28, 2013

Cabin Fever and Anne Hathaway 2/28/2013

It’s been a long winter.  February finally ends on Thursday (thank goodness it’s the shortest month of the year), but it seems as though Christmas was six months ago.  We still have the month of March to go before we can officially proclaim Spring’s arrival.  March in the south can be a big mixed bag of weather which usually includes a week of really warm temps, causing every bush and tree to begin sprouting, followed by a couple of nights below freezing, when we hold our breaths and hope those sprouts don’t get killed.  Then it’s back to the 70’s.  That cycle usually repeats itself at least twice during March.

Rain!   We’ve received over 11 inches of of the wet stuff since this time last week. I’ve often heard the term “cabin fever” and have never felt that particular syndrome until this past week of nonstop water pouring from the sky.  We couldn’t go outside – even to the mailbox – without rain gear and umbrella.  Maddie and Bear were like cooped up two-year-olds, padding back and forth from door to door, wanting to go outside and play, yet too prissy to set one paw out the door until nature’s call could no longer be ignored.  Then it was a headlong rush to the first section of lawn that offered grass, a really fast poop and pee, then a rush back inside to be toweled off.  We keep a dozen doggie towels in an old chest just for times like these, and I washed and dried the whole lot several times over the past week.

I’m trying to convince myself it’s the rain and all the time spent indoors that has me feeling a little down right now.  I also know that dear friend Chris Ann is constantly on my mind and heart, and every  time the phone rings, my heart jumps.  I hate this feeling for myself, and even more so for Ted who has to put up with my moodiness 24/7.

There’s certainly no good news on TV, but a little snippet I heard yesterday while Ted and I ate dinner in the kitchen really disturbed me.

I love Anne Hathaway – always have.  She seems to be a genuinely classy, loving, unmarred-by- Hollywood lady who is now being criticized for being “too gushy”.  Her humble and sweet acceptance speeches for awards won are being touted as “over the top” and “almost too-sincere-to-believe”.

I mean what the heck?!  Have we so armored ourselves, numbed our feelings, and hardened our hearts that we criticize someone for being thankful for being rewarded for her gifts!

I was really feeling bad until I read Ms. Hattaway’s remarks about the so-called “Hathahaters”.  She said this:

“It does get to me. But you have to remember in life that there’s a positive to every negative and a negative to every positive. The miracle of the universe is that, as far as they know, there’s 51 percent matter versus 49 percent anti-matter — things tip in the scale of the positive, so that is what I focus on.
I live my life with love.  I live my life with compassion.  I live my life hoping the best for absolutely everyone, no matter how they feel about me.  And when you live that way, it’s amazing how beautiful every day can be.”

So today, with the sun shining brightly and Bear and I getting ready to ride into Albany and give out a lot of hugs and doggy love at two assisted living facilities, I am arming myself with those words from Anne and these from my devotional book, Jesus Calling by Sarah Young:
Approach this day with awareness of who is Boss.  As you make plans for the day, remember that it is I who orchestrate the events of your life.  On days when things go smoothly, according to your plans, you may be unaware of My sovereign Presence.  On days when your plans are thwarted, be on the lookout for Me!  I may be doing something important in your life, something quite different from what you expected.  It is essential at such times to stay in communication with Me, accepting My way as better than yours.  Don’t try to figure out what is happening.  Simply trust Me and thank Me in advance for the good that will come out of it all.  I know the plans I have for you, and they are good.
Hmmmmmm . . . I think my “fever” has broken.
 
Responses

  1. Bless u my dear friend. He knows when to use you to help me through the day. My love to Ted

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Thanks Bree. I’ve not been feeling my best either the last day or so and what you quoted helped brighten my day.

  3. AMEN, AMEN,and AMEN Thanks

  4. Thanks for your writing, Jesus Calling was just what I needed to read today.

  5. I find myself remembering Laura Ingalls Wilder’s descriptions in The Long Winter this year – and we aren’t experiencing 7 months of snow!

  6. Beautiful words Brenda. It is amazing to me that people are so quick to criticize and find fault. I think the “fear” mentality invades our world. Our job is to counteract it whenever we can.

  7. It shall be so. Amen!

  8. Thanks Brenda..I really needed that, especially this morning…right words at the right time.

  9. Wonderful reminder from Sarah Young. Thank you for sharing! I always say a little phrase to myself when things aren’t going my way or someone cuts me off in traffic, or this, or that happens: “That’s your angel at work, Andrea.” It always puts me in check.

    I understand where you’re coming from. Indiana has more grey days than otherwise through the month of February. There’s only one difference between night and day; days are slightly less dark. 🙂 Sometimes I enjoy the gloom, sometimes it motivates me to get stuff done. Most of the time I just want some quality time under my blankie in nappy land.

    Much like Georgia, March in Indiana lives up to the “In like a lion, out like a lamb” phrase it’s been given. We usually have a blizzard around basketball sectional time – and we’re right on top of that now. So I’m holding my breath and hoping we escape that last blast of winter and glide through a gentle March. We’ll see.

    We’ve got flowers trying to inch out of the dirt right now. Poor confused things do this every year. I think they are sick of the dark too. All of us are reaching for some sun.

    Then there’s Chris Ann, she’s about to see the light of all lights, warmth she’s never known. A place of peace like she’s never even dreamed about.

    And there, my dear friend, is our hope.


Leave a Reply

Categories

