Posted by: bree1972 | April 4, 2013

Springtime at the Lake 4/4/2013

When Ted and I looked at the calendar hanging on the inside of the cereal cabinet door this past Monday morning, we saw four empty squares marking Monday-Thursday.  We grinned at each other and said – almost at the same time – “Woo Hoo!”

Ok, ok.  Ted has never said “woo hoo” is his life – but I said it for both of us.

With no doctor, dentist, eye exam, grocery or Pet Partner visits looming for the week, I did what I normally do this time of year . . . made a list!

Yep – it’s time for the six-weeks-to-go-before-we-leave-for-Michigan-list.  I’ve said it before, but I never made lists back in my younger days – I just remembered stuff.  Now, if it isn’t written down and checked off, it won’t get done.  Sad, but true.

Things on my list this year:

  • Deep clean the house (which means closets, drawers, cabinets, blinds, windows, etc.).  I divide the house into rooms and the rooms into sections.  Yes, I could do it all in a few days if I wanted to half-kill myself, but I’m hoping to be alive and well at the end of the “deep clean”.  So I just do a couple of things on the lists each day until we leave.  That way, the house gets sparkly, but I still have lots of “day” left each day to do other things, like . . .
  • Exercise and eat better!  I have been a very, VERY bad girl this winter.  I have not walked, I have not biked, I have not dieted.  What I have done is sit a lot, read a lot and eat a lot.  Even as busy as we’ve stayed and as on-the-go as we’ve been, there has been no real cardio exercise at all.  Therefore, I am one big lump of weak muscles and no stamina.  What does that mean come the middle of May on the first trip up Cadotte to our condo on Mackinac?  It means this old girl will be in a world of hurt.  Something has to change. And that leads us to the last thing on the list . . .  another list!
  • Start getting ready to close the lake house.  You’ve seen that list before – no need to post it again.  And besides – it just seems to get longer each year.  I’d think by now it would be shorter.  But it’s not.

So now it’s Thursday, and the accomplishments are starting to be checked off.  The house cleaning is on schedule, and so is the exercise.  I dug my Walk at Home tapes out of mothballs and dutifully marched three miles in 45 minutes around our den each day this week – except for the day I rode my bike four miles (I did that outside).  My chicken-salad-sandwich-and-potato-chip-lunches have been replaced by lean baked chicken, raw carrots, and whole wheat Gold Fish (I HAVE to have one salty, crunchy treat or I will NOT stick to this type of eating).  I’m hoping to keep it all going now that I’ve gotten through the hardest part . . . getting off the couch.

LAKE PHOTOS

It finally warmed up enough for Ted to drop the boat in the water and cruise to Booger Bottom like a true Ri'vah local.

It finally warmed up enough for Ted to drop the boat in the water and cruise to Booger Bottom via the ri’vah.

We have a huge bed of azaleas in the front yard, and they looked really pretty one evening as the sun was setting.

We have a huge bed of azaleas in the front yard, and they looked really pretty one evening as the sun was setting.

The next day I walked out front with the camera to take a couple of shots of the azaleas in the sun.

The next day I walked out front with the camera to take a couple of shots of the azaleas in the sun.

Bear found a stick to chew on after he figured out I didn't bring his ball out with me.

Bear found a stick to chew on after he figured out I didn’t bring his ball out with me.  It was a gorgeous day on the ri’vah.

We've just begun to notice a slight tinge of green in the lawn.  With all the rain we've been getting, it won't be long before it t

We’ve just begun to notice a slight tinge of green in the lawn. With all the rain we’ve been getting, all we need is a week of warm temps and it will look like a green velvet shag rug.

My first photo attempt at a full moon . . .

My first photo attempt at a full moon . . .

same moon, cropped up close.

. . . same moon, cropped up close.  LOVE my new camera!

Places you don't want to see your husband.  We've had a lot of wind this spring, and Ted was on top of the boathouse nailing down tin that had torn loose.  I was very glad when that task was over, and he was back on the dock!

Places you don’t want to see your husband!  We’ve had a lot of wind this spring, and Ted was on top of the boathouse nailing down tin that had torn loose.

I was very glad when that task was over, and he was back on the dock!

I was very glad when that task was over, and he was back on the dock!  As you can see, all the rain has our lake still looking mighty muddy.

Back yard azaleas against

Back yard azaleas against the beautiful “spring green” of budding trees.

Kind of a crooked photo, but I was sitting in the swing and turned around and shot this over the back

Kind of a crooked photo, but I was sitting in the swing when I turned around and shot this. 

Early one morning, I opened our front door to let Maddie and Bear out and saw the full moon setting.  As I opened the back door to go out onto the sunporch, I was greeted by the sun rising through the mist over the water.  My thoughts turned to that old adage, "God's in his Heaven, all's right with the world."

Early one morning, I opened our front door to let Maddie and Bear out and saw the full moon setting. As I opened the back door to go out onto the sun porch, I was greeted by . .

. . . the sun rising through the mist over the water. My thoughts turned to that old adage, "God's in his Heaven, all's right with the world."

. . . the sun rising through the mist over the water. I sat down on the sofa out there and just watched in silence for a few moments as the lake came alive with the sound of birds arriving at the feeders, an early morning fisherman starting his motor somewhere up the river, and the gentle lap of water against the seawall. 

As the days warm and our minds turn once more toward going north, I find myself thinking more and more about our future years and what they may bring.  There is a part of me that has begun to long for the stability of a year-round residence, where I can plant flowers in the spring and still be there to cut them in the summer.  Maybe it’s my age and some primeval turning of my spirit more toward a permanent nest for our senior years.  I don’t know exactly what it is, but I find myself spending more time than usual trying to figure it out.

But then I think of giving up Mackinac, and the sadness I feel is so overwhelming I silently shake my head and say, “Not yet . . . no, not yet.”

Responses

  1. Add another thing to your list: visit Thomasville for the Rose Festival on April 26-27! (and call me for lunch when you do!) 🙂

    • One of these days I’m going to show up in Thomasville and surprise you!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. It amazes me that you and Ted make the big journey to Mackinac each year. I can’t imagine all the work of closing one house, packing, driving, and then opening another house! WOW!

    Today must be the “get in shape day”. Like you, I have been very bad this winter with not exercising and eating right. Your blog is the 3rd reminder TODAY that I need to get back to a better lifestyle. God is definitely sending me a message!

    The picture of Bear standing outside in front of the house is precious!

    Take care!

    • You took the words right out of my mouth Yvoone. Spring, renewal, less comfort food. Get out and get going.

  3. Multiply by 110 the fear you feel when Ted is on the roof of the boat house. Ken – at age 83 – will not stay off the roof of our 2-story house when he decides to clean the gutters, or check the shingles. Yikes!

    Loved seeing all your flowers. Surely “Spring” will arrive in Lansing soon.

  4. Joanne, I can’t believe that your husband is on the roof at 83. Why should I be surprised my husband will be doing the same thing until he dies. I can’t stand to be outside when Jim is on the roof of our two story house. If I can plan it right I’m not even home when he’s up there. Is this a man thing or what.
    Love the pictures of the moon and sunrise. Of course I always love any picture of Bear.

  5. Where would life be without decisions….

  6. Brenda,

    Now that is what I call Spring. Beautiful!

    You know, you don’t have to deep clean the house before you leave for Mackinac. It will just get dusty by the time you get back in the Fall and you’ll have to do it all over again. Must be a woman thing.

  7. I forgot to mention one thing. After helping to build the roof over our front deck last summer and putting on some of the roofing by myself, when no one else was home, I’ll never get on the roof again. No offence to those who think otherwise, but “my mother didn’t raise no dummies”. Of course, if I hadn’t been a dummie, I wouldn’t have been up their in the first place.

  8. Your photos are gorgeous….every one of them. I love your new camera results. I loved your other camera results but this one is really tops. the close moon is fantastic. Love the moon and sun shots. Your home looks so friendly and cozy, very pretty. Bear is as handsome as ever. Flowers are beautiful. I agree with both of Lowell’s posts! Don’t work too hard now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

